Friday, April 4, 2014

April 4th, 2014 - Worshiping HooDoo? You Do!

FRIDAY NIGHT!!  Evening my friends!  The Meista here pairing some rockin' metal and crisp German-style brew... Anthrax's "Worship Music" and a HooDoo Kölsch Style Ale from Uinta Brewing Company!  Hells yeah!

Coming in at 25 IBU and 4% ABV, the HooDoo Kölsch Style Ale from Uinta Brewing Company is a crisp Kölsch-style golden ale brewed in the somewhat obscure Köln tradition.  The HooDoo Kölsch Style Ale pours a hazy, very pale amber with a bright, white 1-finger head that displays good retention and intricate lacing throughout.  Like a Euro-lager, the nose is very grassy, very hoppy, and somewhat skunky.  There are notes of malty bread, lemon grass, light caramel, and noble hops.  Light-bodied, the mouthfeel is very crisp, sharp, and dry.  The flavor is somewhat vinous, lemony, and malty.  There are notes of lemon zest, sourdough bread, white pepper, grassy hops, and .  The HooDoo finishes clean, dry, and refreshing... a great, sessionable brew that accompanies the sheer metal prowess of Anthrax perfectly!

Released on September 13th, 2011 through Megaforce/Nuclear Blast Records, "Worship Music" is the 10th studio album by thrash metal gods, Anthrax and the first album since 1990's "Persistence of Time" to feature vocalist Joey Belladonna.  And man, did Joey come back with a vengeance!!  This may very well be my favorite Anthrax album!  Thematically, the albums lyrics explore songs about fighting for democracy ("Earth on Hell" and "Revolution Screams"), WWII veterans ("The Devil You Know"), a zombie apocalypse ("Fight 'Em 'Til You Can't"), and the television show Lost ("The Constant"), among others.  My two favorite songs on the album are tributes: "Judas Priest" and "In The End".  "Judas Priest" specifically pays homage to the metal gods themselves, Judas Priest! The song's bridge actually has several references to Priest songs.  "In The End" is a tribute to both the late, great Ronnie James Dio and Dimebag Darrell, a long-time friend and contributor to the band.  The other songs on the album ("I'm Alive, "The Giant", and "Crawl") are all fantastic rockers as well!   Metal Rules Webzine chose "Worship Music" as the best metal album of 2011... YUP!!  Right there with ya Metal Rules!!  Oh, the band on the album is as follows:
  • Joey Belladonna – lead vocals
  • Frank Bello – bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Charlie Benante – drums
  • Rob Caggiano – lead guitar
  • Scott Ian – rhythm guitar, backing vocals

  • Prost... Zum Wohl... Hails!!

    No comments:

    Post a Comment