Monday, December 22, 2014

December 22nd, 2014 - That Damned Aqualung!

Good evening!  The Meista pairing Jethro Tull's legendary album "Aqualung" with a Damnation Golden Ale from Russian River Brewing Company!  Hell yeah!!

Album Info:
  • Artist: Jethro Tull
  • Title: "Aqualung"
  • Recorded: December 1970 through February 1971 at Island Studios, Basing Street, London
  • Release date: March 19th, 1971
  • Record company: Chrysalis/Reprise
  • Production: Ian Anderson and Terry Ellis
  • Personnel: Ian Anderson - vocals, acoustic guitar, and flute; Martin Barre – electric guitar and descant recorder; Clive Bunker – drums and percussion; Glenn Cornick – bass guitar (not credited); John Evan – piano, organ, and mellotron; and Jeffrey Hammond (as "Jeffrey Hammond-Hammond") – bass guitar, alto recorder, and odd voices (backing vocals on "Mother Goose")
  • Album art: Burton Silverman
  • Major themes: Cerebral and introspective, "Aqualung" is somewhat of a concept album with themes examining everything from god and religious hypocrisy, death, adultery, prostitution, and suffering... all conveyed by some very fascinating character sketches. 
  • Musical style: Hard rock, psychedelic rock, and progressive rock with a mixture of blues, folk, and jazz.
  • Sound: Heavy riffs, intricate and compelling melodies and harmonies, and breathtaking musical execution by each member of the band.
  • Notes: Although many consider it a concept album, of "Aqualung", Ian Anderson said the following: "I always said at the time that this is not a concept album; this is just an album of varied songs of varied instrumentation and intensity in which three or four are the kind of keynote pieces for the album but it doesn't make it a concept album. In my mind when it came to writing the next album, Thick as a Brick, was done very much in the sense of: 'Whuh, if they thought Aqualung was a concept album, Oh! Okay, we'll show you a concept album.' And it was done as a kind of spoof, a send-up, of the concept album genre. ... But Aqualung itself, in my mind was never a concept album. Just a bunch of songs."
  • Tracks:
  1. "Aqualung"
  2. "Cross-Eyed Mary"
  3. "Cheap Day Return"
  4. "Mother Goose"
  5. "Wond'ring Aloud"
  6. "Up To Me"
  7. "My God"
  8. "Hymn 43"
  9. "Slipstream"
  10. "Locomotive Breath"
  11. "Wind-Up"
Brew Info:
  • Brewery: Russian River Brewing Company
  • Website:
  • Brew: Damnation Golden Ale
  • Style: Belgian Strong Pale Ale
  • Serving: 12 ounce bottle
  • ABV: 7.75%
  • Pour: Cloudy, honey-yellow gold with a frothy and bright head that dissipates quickly leaving intricate lacing.
  • Nose: Spicy and floral bouquet of fruit ester
  • Taste: The flavor is filled with notes of white grape/wine, lemony citrus, woodsy cedar, light malts, earthy hops, white pepper, Belgian yeast, and soft spices.  There's a slight hint of pink bubble gum as well, which is characteristic of many lighter Belgian beers.
  • Mouthfeel: Light-bodied and well-carbonated, the mouthfeel is crisp, bubbly, and dry.
  • Finish: Rather dry and lingering.
Overall pairing: The complexity, multi-layered flavors, the bite, and the depth of this ale really pairs wonderfully with the very similar characteristics of Jethro Tull's classic "Aqualung"!


No comments:

Post a Comment