Friday, May 1, 2015

May 1st, 2015 - Framing A Watershed Alemageddon

Hello friends!  Your drinking buddy the Meista here pairing "Framing Armageddon: Something Wicked Part 1" by the mighty Iced Earth and a Watershed IPA from Oakshire Brewing!!
Album Info:
  • Artist: Iced Earth
  • Title: "Framing Armageddon: Something Wicked Part 1"
  • Recorded: Soaring Eagle Sound, Nashville, Indiana
  • Release date: September 11th, 2007 (8th studio album by Iced Earth)
  • Record company: SPV GmbH
  • Album cover art: Nathan Perry
  • Personnel:  Tim "Ripper" Owens (lead and backing vocals), Jon Schaffer (lead, rhythm, and acoustic guitars, bass, and backing vocals), and Brent Smedley (drums and backing vocals)
  • Additional musicians: Jason Blackerby (backing vocals), Debbie Harrell (backing vocals), Dennis Hayes (bass on tracks 7 and 12), Howard Helm (Hammond organ, keyboards, and backing vocals), Kathy Helm (backing vocals), Tim Mills (guitar on track 7), Jim Morris (lead guitar on track 16 and backing vocals), Todd Plant (backing vocals), Patina Ripkey (backing vocals), Steve Rogowski (cello), and Troy Steele (guitar solos on tracks 5,6,10,12,14, and 17)
  • Musical style: Power metal
  • Sound: Bold, aggressive, soaring -  Schaffer and Smedley lay down the fast and fiery heaviness Iced Earth is known for while Ripper provides explosive vocals!
  • Major themes: The album is part one of a two-album concept about a fictional history of mankind with themes of violence, war, the wickedness of man, vengeance, retribution, etc.
  • Notes: Schaffer described as: "The premise is that mankind is actually alien to the planet earth. And that we came here on a quest for this ultimate knowledge that these beings called the Setians had. They were the true inhabitants of earth and they are the direct descendants of God or the grand architect of the universe. So they have all of the answers as to why things are the way they are. And human beings were after this unlimited power. So they come to planet earth and they basically wipe out the civilization of the Setians –this is all in ‘Framing Armageddon’- and that story takes place from the point of invasion up until the birth of Set."
  • Tracks:   
  1. "Overture"
  2. "Something Wicked Part 1"
  3. "Invasion"
  4. "Motivation Of Man"
  5. "Setian Massacre"
  6. "A Charge To Keep"
  7. "Reflections"
  8. "Ten Thousand Strong"
  9. "Execution"
  10. "Order Of The Rose"
  11. "Cataclysm"
  12. "The Clouding"
  13. "Infiltrate And Assimilate"
  14. "Retribution Through The Ages"
  15. "Something Wicked Part 2"
  16. "The Domino Decree"
  17. "Framing Armageddon"
  18. "When Stars Collide (Born He Is)"
  19. "The Awakening"

    Brew Info:
  • Brewery: Oakshire Brewing (Eugene, Oregon)
  • Website:
  • Brew: Watershed IPA
  • Style: American India Pale Ale (IPA)
  • Serving: 12 ounce can
  • ABV: 6.7%
  • IBUs: 70
  • Gravity: 15.1 degrees Plato
  • Pour: Hazy golden amber with a 1-finger ivory head that fades to a nice cap with good retention and sticky lacing throughout.
  • Nose: The nose of the Watershed IPA is very floral, citrusy, and piney.  There are aromas of honeysuckle, spring flowers, grapefruit juice, tangerine, mango, pine resin, and spicy herbs.
  • Taste: The flavor of the Watershed IPA is complex, well-balanced, citrusy, fruity, piney, and sweet.  There are notes of sweet caramel/toffee, bitter pine and black tea, bright fruit flavors of pink grapefruit, lemon, mango, and crackery biscuit.
  • Mouthfeel: Crisp, dry, and very refreshing, the Watershed IPA is medium-bodied with good carbonation and drinkability.  The finish is fairly clean and dry with a light, lingered bitter note.
Overall pairing: One of the things that has always drawn me to the music of Iced Earth is both the profundity and complexity of Schaffer's compositions and lyrical themes, while at the same time, the straight-ahead, kick-ass metal power!  Although maybe not as bold and intricate as Iced Earth's "Framing Armageddon: Something Wicked Part 1", the Watershed IPA from Oakshire Brewing makes for a great companion with its bright, punchy flavors and hoppy, aromatic nose.  The refreshing drinkability of  the Watershed IPA allows a nice drinking experience while not impeding upon the listening experience and focus on the complexity of the album's story and delivery.

Cheers and hails!!

No comments:

Post a Comment