Friday, March 25, 2016

March 25th, 2016 - FlockWave Supernova

Good afternoon and happy Friday!  The Meista is here today rocking out with "Shockwave Supernova" by Joe Satriani and a Flock Wave Unfiltered Pale Ale from Pelican Brewing Company!

Album Info:
  • Artist: Joe Satriani
  • Title: "Shockwave Supernova"
  • Recorded: 2015 at Skywalker Sound in Lucas Valley, Marin County, California
  • Release date: July 24th, 2015 (15th studio album by Satch) (2009-02-03)
  • Record company: Sony Music Entertainment
  • Production: Joe Satriani and John Cuniberti
  • Album cover art: 
  • Personnel: Joe Satriani (guitars, keyboards, bass on track 6, harmonica, and production) with Bryan Beller (bass), Chris Chaney (bass), Vinnie Colaiuta (drums), John Cuniberti (percussion and production), Mike Keneally (keyboards and additional rhythm guitar on track 2), Tony Menjivar (percussion, congas, and bongos), Marco Minnemann (drums), and Bobby Vega (bass)
  • Musical style: Instrumental progressive rock, hard rock with elements of jazz, metal, and blues
  • Sound: Satch lays down his heavy duty monster guitar work like only he can! "Shockwave Supernova" is both richly textured and pure adrenalin rock and roll.  The songs are full, well-fleshed out, and fun as hell to hear!  And the musicianship from Satch and his crew is top-notch! 
  • Major themes: Instrumental album... so read into the themes as you will.
  • Tracks:   
  1. "Shockwave Supernova"
  2. "Lost In A Memory"
  3. "Crazy Joey"
  4. "In My Pocket"
  5. "On Peregrine Wings"
  6. "Cataclysmic"
  7. "San Francisco Blue"
  8. "Keep On Movin'"
  9. "All Of My Life"
  10. "A Phase I'm Going Through"
  11. "Scarborough Stomp"
  12. "Butterfly And Zebra"
  13. "If There Is No Heaven"
  14. "Stars Race Across The Sky"
  15. "Goodbye Supernova"
Brew Info:
  • Brewery: Pelican Brewing Company (Pacific City, Oregon)
  • Website:   
  • Brew: Flock Wave Unfiltered Pale Ale
  • Style: American Pale Ale (APA)
  • Serving: 22 ounce bottle
  • ABV: 5.9%
  • IBUs: 45
  • Gravity: 13 degrees Plato
  • Ingredients: Pure ale yeast, 2-Row and White wheat malts, and Aramis, Cascade, and Nugget hops
  • Pour: Being unfiltered, the Flock Wave pours a very cloudy golden amber with a fluffy and sustained, white, 2-finger head with great retention and lots of intricate lacing throughout.
  • Nose: The nose is a very bright blend of floral and fruity citrus with a more subtle malt backbone.  There are aromas of lemon, orange, and pink grapefruit with hints of pine, wild flowers, herbs, and crackery wheat.
  • Taste: The taste of the Flock Wave is a blend of floral and fruity hops with hints of herbs, minerals, and bready malts.  There are notes of crisp grapefruit, tart lemon, and juicy orange along with light pine, spicy herbs, crackery biscuit, and hints of caramel sweetness.
  • Mouthfeel: Light to medium-bodied and well-carbonated, the mouthfeel of the Flock Wave is very crisp and refreshing with a somewhat dry and slightly bitter finish.
Overall pairing: The punchy, crisp, and citrusy flavors and aromas of Pelican's lovely Flock Wave Unfiltered Pale Ale is a fitting brew for the intricate, yet very rockin' heavy-duty power that Satch lays down on "Shockwave Supernova"!  What more can I say?  Both the album and the brew and so very enjoyable on a Friday afternoon!


No comments:

Post a Comment