Tuesday, March 29, 2016

March 29th, 2016 - Tell-Tales From A Tart Emerald Sword Saga

Good evening!  The Meista is here tonight pairing "Tales From The Emerald Sword Saga", a compilation album by Italian symphonic power metal band Rhapsody and a Tell-Tale Tart from Boulevard Brewing Company's Smokestack Series!

Album Info:
  • Artist: Rhapsody
  • Title: "Tales From The Emerald Sword Saga"
  • Recorded: April 1997 through January 2002 at multiple studios
  • Release date: March 1, 2004 (2009-02-03)
  • Record company: Limb Music
  • Production: Sascha Paeth, Miro, and  Michael Rodenberg
  • Album cover art: Eric Philippe
  • Personnel: Daniele Carbonera (drums), Alex Holzwarth (drums), Fabio Lione (lead vocals), Alessandro Lotta (bass), Sascha Paeth (bass, acoustic guitars, and mandolin) Alex Staropoli (keyboards), Luca Turilli (guitars)
  • Musical style: Symphonic power metal, folk metal 
  • Sound: Bombastic, cinematic, and intricate, the music of Rhapsody is a powerful and symphonic assault.  Lione's vocals are a wonderful soaring range as is Turilli's amazing guitar acrobatics!  And Staropoli's keyboards are both richly baroque and fantastically modern!  And the drumming is machine-gun fire explosiveness!
  • Major themes: Fantasy themes and stories revolving around sword and sorcery, mythical beasts, valiant warriors, the battle of good and evil, power and might, and the bard's tale.
  • Notes: "Tales From The Emerald Sword Saga" is a compilation album with tracks from the band's first 6 albums: "Legendary Tales", "Emerald Sword", "Symphony Of Enchanted Lands", "Dawn Of Victory", "Rain Of A Thousand Flames," and "Power Of The Dragonflame".
  • Tracks:   
  1. "Warrior Of Ice"
  2. "Rage Of The Winter (Symphonic Version)"
  3. "Forest Of Unicorns"
  4. "Land Of Immortals (Remake)"
  5. "Emerald Sword"
  6. "Wisdom Of The Kings"
  7. "Wings Of Destiny"
  8. "Riding The Winds Of Eternity (Edit)"
  9. "Dawn Of Victory"
  10. "Holy Thunderforce (Remix)"
  11. "Village Of Dwarves"
  12. "Rain Of A Thousand Flames"
  13. "Knightrider Of Doom"
  14. "March Of The Swordmaster"
  15. "Power Of The Dragonflame"
  16. "Lamento Eroico"
Brew Info:
  • Brewery: Boulevard Brewing Company (Kansas City, Missouri)
  • Website: www.boulevard.com     
  • Brew: Tell-Tale Tart
  • Style: American Wild Ale
  • Serving: 
  • ABV: 6.2%
  • IBUs: 10
  • Pour: Clear red-amber with a thin, fizzy white head that leaves only trace lacing.
  • Nose: The nose is characterized by nutty, toasty malts and lemony tartness.  There are aromas of sweet caramel malt, dark fruits and citrusy zest along with a little barnyard funk, tart lemon, and pomegranate.
  • Taste: The taste of the Tell-Tale Tart is tart and sweet with a biscuity malt character.  There are notes of lemon juice, apple cider vinegar, tart black cherries, soft caramel/toffee and hints of bittering hops.
  • Mouthfeel: Medium-bodied and is crisp, tart, with a dry, but lingering sour finish.
Overall pairing: The wonderful tart, malty, and rich flavors of Boulevard Brewing Company's Tell-Tale Tart makes for a great companion to the fantastically bombastic symphonic power that is Rhapsody's "Tales From The Emerald Sword Saga"!  The interesting aromas and tastes found in a bottle of the Tell-Tale Tart work really well with the rich tapestry that Rhapsody weaves!


No comments:

Post a Comment