Sunday, May 8, 2016

May 8th, 2016 - "[Drink And] Eat A peach For Peace... The Two-Legged Georgia Variety"

Good afternoon!  The Meista here today pairing "Eat A Peach" by the Allman Brothers Band and She's A Peach from Vernal Brewing Company!

Album Info:
  • Artist: The Allman Brothers Band
  • Title: "Eat A Peach"
  • Recorded: September through December 1971 at Criteria Studios in Miami Florida and March 12th through 13th and June 27th, 1971 at the Fillmore East in New York City, New York
    Release date: February 12th, 1972 (3rd studio album by the Allman Brothers Band)009-02-03)
  • Record company: Capricorn Records
  • Production: Tom Dowd
  • Album cover art: J. F. Holmes and W. David Powell from Wonder Graphics
  • Personnel: Duane Allman (slide guitar, lead guitar, acoustic guitar on all tracks except "Ain't Wastin' Time No More", "Les Brers in A Minor" and "Melissa"), Gregg Allman (lead vocals, organ, piano, electric piano, and acoustic guitar), Dickey Betts (lead guitar and lead vocals on "Blue Sky"), Jai Johanny Johanson (drums and congas), Berry Oakley (bass guitar), Butch Trucks (drums, percussion, tympani, gong, vibes, and tambourine)
  • Musical style: Hard rock, Southern rock, blues rock
  • Sound: Powerful, soulful, and honest, the talent on this album is almost overwhelming.  "We were all putting more into it, trying so hard to make it as good as it would have been with Duane.  We knew our driving force, our soul, the guy that set us all on fire, wasn't there and we had to do something for him," said Trucks.
  • Major themes: Death, loss, the blues, relationships, love, etc. 
  • Notes: The album's title came from a quote by Duane Allman: "You can't help the revolution, because there's just evolution ... Every time I'm in Georgia, I eat a peach for peace... the two-legged Georgia variety."  Much of the music on "Eat A Peach" that was recorded after Duane's death and directly dealt with the tragedy of losing him.
  • Tracks:   
  1. "Ain't Waistin' No More Time"
  2. "Les Brers In A Minor"
  3. "Melissa"
  4. "Mountain Jam" (live)
  5. "On Way Out" (live)
  6. "Trouble No More" (live)
  7. "Stand Back"
  8. "Blue Sky"
  9. "Little Martha"

Brew Info:
  • Brewery: Vernal Brewing Company (Vernal, Utah)
  • Website:     
  • Brew: She's A Peach
  • Style: Peach Wheat Ale
  • Serving: 12 ounce can
  • ABV: 4.0%
  • Pour: Hazy golden-yellow with frothy, 1-finger, bright white head that leaves a nice, sustained ring throughout.
  • Nose: The nose is fruity, floral, and malty.  There are big notes of peach blossom, freshly picked peaches, lemon, wheat bread, and wild flowers.
  • Taste: Like biting into a ripe peach, the taste of the She's A Peach is very fruity, floral, and bready.  There are notes of peach juice and syrup, rose water, freshly baked wheat bread, and an ever so mild grassy hop note and hits of spice.
  • Mouthfeel: Light to medium-bodied with moderate carbonation, the mouthfeel is smooth, crisp, and refreshing with a fruity, yet clean finish.

Overall pairing: The not-too-sweet, but very peachy flavor of Vernal Brewing Company's delightful She's A Peach is a great beer for a mellow Sunday afternoon of watching the rain and contemplating the sheer brilliance of the Allman Brothers Band's "Eat A Peach"!  The sweet, sweet notes of Duane's guitar alone make this the perfect pairing!


No comments:

Post a Comment