Friday, September 9, 2016

September 9th, 2016 - Metal Fests And Fest Helles For the Road Warriors

Happy Friday and hails!  Your drinkin' buddy the Meista here today pairing "Warriors Of The Road: "The Saxon Chronicles Part II" DVD/CD from the mighty Saxon with a Fest Helles from Uinta Brewing Company!

Album Info:
  • Artist: Saxon
  • Title: "Warriors Of The Road: "The Saxon Chronicles Part II"
  • Recorded: 2012 through 2013 at various locations
  • Release date: 2014 (1969-04-16)
  • Record company: Coolhead Productions / UDR GMbH
  • Production: Biff Byford, Collin Games, Craig Hooper, and Ulrike Rudolph
  • Album cover art: Kai Swillus
  • Personnel: Biff Byford (lead vocals), Tim "Nibbs" Carter (bass), Nigel Glockler (drums), Paul Quin (lead and rhythm guitar), and Doug Scarratt (lead and rhythm guitar)
  • Musical style: Heavy metal, hard rock
  • Sound: An almost overwhelming collection of live footage and tracks that is the sonic juggernaut that is Saxon... it fucking rocks!!  Need I say more?!?
  • Major themes: With all the songs included between the concerts here spanning their career, there are a plethora of themes including rock and roll, heavy metal, knights, swordplay, war, epic battles, vengeance, space exploration, self-reliance, power, etc.
  • DVD (Disc 1): "Warriors Of The Road: "The Saxon Chronicles Part II" documentary
  • DVD (Disc 2):
  1. "Saxon Live At Wacken Open Air 2012"
  2. "Saxon Live At Download Festival 2012"
  3. "Bonus: Live At Graspop Metal Meeting 2013"
  • CD Tracks: "Saxon Live At Steelhouse Festival":  
  1. "Sacrifice"
  2. "Wheels Of Terror"
  3. "And The Bands Played On"
  4. "Conquistador"
  5. "The Eagle Has Landed"
  6. "Stand Up And Fight"
  7. "747"
  8. "Crusader"
  9. "Denim & Leather"
  10. "Princess Of The Night"

Brew Info:
  • Brewery: Uinta Brewing Company (Salt Lake City, Utah)
  • Website: 
  • Brew: Fest Helles
  • Style: Munich Helles Lager
  • Serving: 22 ounce bottle
  • ABV: 5.5%
  • Pour: The Fest Helles pours a clear, golden-amber with a billowy, bright white, 2+ finger head that has great retention and displays intricate spider web lacing throughout.
  • Nose: The nose is light and well balanced bready and grassy aromas.  There are notes of toasted pale malt, light biscuit, light apple or pear, light spices, floral hops, and summer grass.
  • Taste: The taste of the Fest Helles follows the nose with bready, lightly sweet, grassy, and fruity.  There are notes of crackery biscuit, hints of lemon, grassy hops, light spice, and light fruit. 
  • Mouthfeel: Light to medium-bodied and well carbonated, the mouthfeel is incredibly smooth, crisp, and refreshing with a clean, slightly dry finish.

Overall pairing: 
The might and power of Saxon is wonderfully captured in the 3-disc set with hours of amazing live music!  Grab a couple Fest Helles lagers from Uinta Brewing Company, pop in the discs, and prepare for the perfect afternoon/evening to get your weekend started right!!

Cheers!!  Horns!!

No comments:

Post a Comment