Thursday, March 16, 2017

March 16th, 2017 - A Blonde Heartbreaker

Good evening rockers and rollers and brew lovers!  The Meista here tonight pairing Tom Petty And The Heartbreakers' self-titled debut album and Blonde Beer from Fireman's Brew Inc.!

Album Info:
  • Artist: Tom Petty And The Heartbreakers
  • Title: "Tom Petty And The Heartbreakers"
  • Recorded: 1974 through 1976 at Shelter Studio in Hollywood, California
  • Release date: November 9th, 1976 (1st album by Tom Petty And The Heartbreakers)
  • Record company: Shelter Records
  • Production: Denny Cordell
  • Album cover art: 
  • Personnel: Ron Blair (bass guitar and cello), Mike Campbell (guitars), Stan Lynch (drums and keyboards), Tom Petty (vocals, guitars, and keyboards), Benmont Tench (piano, Hammond organ, and keyboards)
  • Additional musicians: Donald "Duck" Dunn (bass guitar on track 3), Jim Gordon (drums on track 6), Emory Gordy (bass guitar on track 6), Jeff Jourard (guitar on tracks 2 and 7), Randall Marsh (drums on track 3), Phil Seymour (backing vocals), Noah Shark (maracas, tambourine, and sleigh bells), Charlie Souza (saxophone on track 3), and Dwight Twilley (backing vocals)
  • Musical style: Hard rock, rock and roll, blues rock, folk rock
  • Sound: Upbeat, punchy, straightforward, honest, and fun as hell!!
  • Major themes: Rock and roll, rebellion, love, heartbreak, life, etc.
  • Tracks:   
  1. "Rockin' Around (With You)"
  2. "Breakdown"
  3. "Hometown Blues"
  4. "The Wild One, Forever"
  5. "Anything That's Rock 'n' Roll"
  6. "Strangered in the Night"
  7. "Fooled Again (I Don't Like It)"
  8. "Mystery Man"
  9. "Luna"
  10. "American Girl"

    Brew Info:
  • Brewery: Fireman's Brew Inc. (Woodlands, California)
  • Website:
  • Brew: Fireman's Blonde Beer
  • Style: Pilsner / American Pale Lager 
  • Serving: 12 ounce bottle
  • ABV: 5.0%
  • IBUs: 17
  • Ingredients: American barley and American and imported hops
  • Pour: The Fireman's Blonde pours a slightly hazy straw gold with a bright white, foamy 1-finger head that leaves a sustained ring.
  • Nose: The nose is slightly sweet, grassy, and grainy.  There are aromas of wheat, grassy and floral hops, light cereal grain, hints of sweet fruit, and hints of toffee.
  • Taste: The taste is rather mellow with light malts, grains, and hops.  There are notes of pale malt, light floral and grassy hops, and wheat.
  • Mouthfeel: Light-bodied and well-carbonated, the mouthfeel is smooth and crisp with a dry, clean finish.

Overall pairing: The crisp, simple, but very tasty and honest flavors and aromas of the Fireman's Blonde Beer is perfect for the straightforward rock and roll goodness that is Tom Petty And The Heartbreakers' brilliant debut album!  'Nuff said!


No comments:

Post a Comment