Friday, April 7, 2017

April 7th, 2017 - It's [Not] Being Brainless

Hello and happy Friday my friends!  The Meista here today pairing The Who's "It's Hard" with a Brainless Belgian-Style Golden Ale from Epic Brewing Company!

Album Info:
  • Artist: The Who
  • Title: "It's Hard"
  • Recorded: June 1982 at Turn Up-Down Studio at Glyn Johns' home in Surrey, England
  • Release date: September 4th, 1982 (10th studio album by the Who)
  • Record company: Polydor / Warner Bros.
  • Production: Glyn Johns
  • Album cover art: Richard Evans (design) and Graham Hughes (photography)
  • Personnel: Roger Daltrey (lead vocals, rhythm guitar, and backing vocals on "Eminence Front" and "One At A Time"), John Entwistle (bass guitar, brass, backing vocals, synthesizer on "Dangerous" and "One At A Time", and lead vocals on "One At A Time"), Kenney Jones (drums), and Pete Townshend (guitars, backing vocals, lead vocals and Lowrey TBO-1 organ on "Eminence Front", co-lead vocals on "Athena" and "Cooks County", and piano and synthesizer on "One Life's Enough")
  • Additional musicians: Andy Fairweather-Low (rhythm guitar on "It's Your Turn") and Tim Gorman (synthesizer and organ on "Dangerous", electric piano on "Eminence Front", and synthesizer on "One Life's Enough" and "One At A Time")
  • Musical style: Rock, hard rock with elements of progressive rock
  • Sound: Arguably their boldest album since the "Who's Next" era, "It's Hard" is characterized by layered synthesizers and guitars, sharp hooks, and honest, relevant, and timeless lyrics.
  • Major themes: The difficulties of life, relationships, love, sex, self-doubt, fear, war, etc.
  • Tracks:   
  1. "Athena"
  2. "It's Your Turn"
  3. "Cooks County"
  4. "It's Hard"
  5. "Dangerous"
  6. "Eminence Front"
  7. "I've Known No War"
  8. "One Life's Enough"
  9. "One At A Time"
  10. "Why Did I Fall For That"
  11. "A Man Is A Man"
  12. "Cry If You Want"

Brew Info:
  • Brewery: Epic Brewing Company (Salt Lake City, Utah)
  • Website:
  • Brew: Brainless Belgian-Style Golden Ale
  • Style: Belgian Strong Pale Ale 
  • Serving: 22 ounce bottle
  • ABV: 8.7%
  • Ingredients: Premium 2-Row, Caramalt, Flaked Oats, and Caramel malts; Centennial, Chinook, and Citra hops; rock candy; Belgian yeast
  • Pour: It pours a very hazy, opaque apple cider gold with a thin, bright white head that leaves a nice ring and some surface cloudiness. 
  • Nose: The nose is a big bouquet of fruit ester... pear, white grape juice, banana, and light peach syrup.  There are also some really nice spice aromas (cloves and nutmeg). 
  • Taste: The Brainless Belgian-Style Golden Ale has a very refreshing, yet very rich and forward intensity. It is initially sharp, tart, and slightly sweet with a "pink bubble-gum" finish. There's a real nice bitterness as well from those hops that really comes out in the mid-range and finish. There are also some nice spice notes (clove, nutmeg, coriander) and ester notes (apple cider and pear juice along with the traditional banana of a good Belgian). There's a slight booziness in there as well... but nothing overpowering... again, well-balanced.  As Epic's own description states, the Brainless is "deceivingly drinkable, some liken these ales to the Devil sneaking up on you."
  • Mouthfeel: Medium-bodied with moderate carbonation, the mouthfeel is crisp, somewhat peppery, sharp and dry with a fairly clean and dry finish with hints of booziness.
Overall pairing: The intricate, complex, yet very drinkable flavors of the Brainless Belgian-Style Golden Ale from Epic Brewing is perfect for the wonderful warmth, depth, and brilliance of the Who's "It's Hard"!  As the brew is a bit of a sipper, "It's Hard" is the type of album that demands your attention and offers something new and interesting with each listen!


No comments:

Post a Comment