Saturday, December 29, 2018

December 29th, 2018 - A Drumroll To Play Me Out

Good afternoon and happy Saturday!  Your pal, the Meista here today getting a little funky with a pairing of a Drumroll APA from Odell Brewing Company and "Play Me Out", the first solo album from "the voice of rock", Glenn Hughes!

Album Info:
  • Artist: Glenn Hughes
  • Title: "Play Me Out" (Expanded Edition Reissue)
  • Recorded: 1976 and 1977 at Lee Sound Basing Street Studio in Pelsall, England and Air Studios
  • Release date: July 18th, 1977 (1st solo studio album by Glenn Hughes)
  • Record company: RPM
  • Production: Glenn Hughes
  • Album cover art: Gered Mankowitz
  • Personnel: Glenn Hughes (Fender Bass guitar, electric and acoustic guitars, Fender Rhodes 88 Electric Piano, Mini-Moog, Hohner Clavinet, ARP String Ensemble, and lead vocals) with Ron Asprey (alto, baritone, and tenor saxophones), Robert Baily (piano), Bob Bowman (guitars), Helen Chappelle (backing vocals), Mel Galley (guitars), Tim Gehrt (drums), Dave Holland (drums), Henry Lowther (trumpet), Mark Nauseef (percussion), Terry Rowley (piano), Liza Strike (backing vocals), Pat Travers (guitars), and Joy Wright (backing vocals)
  • Musical style: Funk rock, soul, R&B, hard rock
  • Sound: Departed from his style of playing with Deep Purple and with heavy influence from Stevie Wonder, "Play Me Out" is a wonderfully soulful, funky, and well-crafted album!  If you are looking for the heavy rock Hughes is known for, this is not it.  But if you want an incredibly soulful and beautifully produced album, this is it my friends!  Hughes' voice is at times velvety smooth and dipped in pure funk at others!  And the musicianship on this album is top notch!
  • Major themes: Life, love, passion, relationships, funk, lust, happiness, music, beauty, honesty, etc. 
  • Notes: The album is dedicated to the late Tommy Bolin, who played guitar with Glenn Hughes in Deep Purple.
  • Tracks:   
  1. "I Got It Covered"
  2. "Space High"
  3. "It's About Time"
  4. "L.A. Cut Off"
  5. "Well"
  6. "Soulution"
  7. "Your Love Is Like A Fire"
  8. "Destiny"
  9. "I Found A Woman"
  10. "Smile"
  11. "Getting Near To You"
  12. "Fool's Condition"
  13. "Take Me With You"
  14. "She Knows"
  15. "There Goes My Baby"
  16. "Gypsy Woman"
  17. "Any Day Now"
  18. "Glimmer Twins Medley"

    Brew Info:
  • Brewery: Odell Brewing Company (Colorado)
  • Website:
  • Brew: Drumroll APA
  • Style: American Pale Ale (APA)
  • Serving: 12 ounce bottle
  • ABV: 5.3% 
  • IBUs: 42
  • Pour: The Drumroll APA pours a cloudy, golden-yellow with a frothy, 1+ finger, off-white head with good sustain and lots of intricate, sticky lacing.
  • Nose: The nose is juicy, citrusy, malty, and a little dank.  There are aromas of orange peel and juice, grapefruit rind, lemon zest, light pine, mango, pineapple, summer grass, and soft caramel/toffee.
  • Taste: The taste of the Drumroll APA is fruity, citrusy, malty, and slightly bitter.  There are notes of orange juice and pith, lemon, pink grapefruit juice, pineapple, mango, peach, light pine, light herbs, and soft caramel.
  • Mouthfeel: Medium in body and well-carbonated, the mouthfeel is crisp,  with a dry, slightly bitter and dry finish. 

Overall pairing:  The crisp, juicy, and very refreshing character of the Drumroll APA from Odell is perfect for the honesty, soul, and depth that is Glenn Hughes' amazingly and funky "Play Me Out"!  'Nuff said!

Cheers!!  Keep it funky!!

No comments:

Post a Comment