Sunday, January 27, 2019

January 27th, 2019 - Power Drunk NAIPA Majesty

Hello and happy Sunday!  The Meista here today rocking the hell out with a pairing of the kickass "Volume II: Power Drunk Majesty", the sophomore album by heavy metal super group Metal Allegiance and a NAIPA (Not An IPA from Hopkins Brewing Company!

Album Info:
  • Artist: Metal Allegiance
  • Title: "Volume II: Power Drunk Majesty"
  • Recorded: 2018
  • Release date: September 7th, 2018 (2nd album by Metal Allegiance) 
  • Record company: Nuclear Blast
  • Production: Mark Menghi and Alex Skolnik
  • Album cover art: Mantus
  • Personnel: David Ellefson (bass, rhythm guitar, and backing vocals), Mark Menghi (bass and backing vocals), Mike Portnoy (drums and percussion), Alex Skolnik (guitars and backing vocals)
  • Guest musicians: Trevor Strnad (lead vocals on "The Accuser"), John Bush (lead vocals on "Bound By Silence"), Bobby Blitz (lead vocals on "Mother Of Sin"), Mark Tornillo (lead vocals on "Terminal Illusion"), Johan Hegg (lead vocals on "King With A Paper Crown"), Max Cavalera (lead vocals on "Voodoo Of The Godsend"), Troy Sanders (lead vocals on Liars & Thieves"), Mark Osegueda (lead vocals on "Impulse Control" and "Power Drunk Majesty (Part I)"), and Floor Jansen (lead vocals on Power Drunk Majesty (Part II)")
  • Musical style: Heavy metal, thrash metal, groove metal
  • Sound: Blending the styles of the singers on the album with their own influences and origins, Metal Allegiance is the ultimate metal super group!  The songs are aggressive, in-your-face, fist-pumping metal fun!  Skolnik's guitar mastery is as awe-inspiring as it always is, Portnoy is a powerhouse, and the combined bass work of Ellefson and Menghi is a marching army!  And the various singers on the album bring it home and bring it hard!
  • Major themes: Politically charged, themes on "Volume II: Power Drunk Majesty" include: deception, power, manipulation, evil, aggression, violence, etc.
  • Tracks:   
  1. "The Accuser"
  2. "Bound By Silence"
  3. "Mother Of Sin"
  4. "Terminal Illusion"
  5. "King With A Paper Crown"
  6. "Voodoo Of The Godsend"
  7. "Liars & Thieves"
  8. "Impulse Control"
  9. "Power Drunk Majesty (Part I)"
  10. "Power Drunk Majesty (Part II)"

    Brew Info:
  • Brewery: Hopkins Brewing Company (Salt Lake City, Utah)
  • Website:
  • Brew: NAIPA (Not An IPA)
  • Style: American Pale Ale (APA)
  • Serving: 16 ounce glass from a 64 ounce growler
  • ABV: 4.0%
  • Ingredients: Centennial, Chinook, and Mosaic hops
  • Pour: The NAIPA pours a very hazy caramel-amber with a frothy, bright white, half-finger head with good retention and soapy lacing.
  • Nose: Hop-forward, the nose is floral, earthy, citrusy, and grainy.  There are aromas of pine resin, grapefruit rind, light berry, wild flowers, bitter herbs, light caramel, and crackery biscuit.
  • Taste: Similar to the nose, the taste of the NAIPA is characterized by citrusy, piney, earthy, malty, and floral flavors.  There are notes of pink grapefruit juice, tangerine, orange peel, pine, herbal tea, and soft caramel.
  • Mouthfeel: Light to medium in body and well carbonated, the mouthfeel of the NAIPA is very crisp, juicy, and slightly bitter with a dry, clean finish.

Overall pairing: The Hopkins NAIPA (Not An IPA) is a very crushable and tasty brew with lots of hoppy punch... perfect for pumping your fists and banging your head to the heavy grooves crunching and soaring guitars, and thunderous bass and drums of Metal Allegiance's fiery "Volume II: Power Drunk Majesty"!!

HAILS!!  Keep it heavy and keep it craft!!

No comments:

Post a Comment