Saturday, June 8, 2019

June 8th, 2019 - Migrating To The Holy Land

Boa tarde.  With the incredibly sad news today of the passing of original Angra vocalist André Matos,  I am respectfully pairing a Migrator Doppelbock Lager from Uinta Brewing Company and Angra's wonderful sophomore full-length album "Holy Land".  Rest in peace André!

Album Info:
  • Artist: Angra
  • Title: "Holy Land"
  • Recorded: 1995 through early 1996 in Djembe Studio in São Paulo, Brazil, Hansen Studios in Hamburg, Germany, Big House Studios in Hannover, Germany, and HG Studio in Wolfsburg, Germany
  • Release date: March 23rd, 1996 (2nd studio album by Angra)
  • Record company: Gravadora Eldorado
  • Production: Charlie Bauerfeind and Sascha Paeth
  • Album cover art: J.A. Torquato
  • Personnel: Rafael Bittencourt (rhythm and lead guitars, backing vocals, and percussion on "Holy Land"), Ricardo Confessori (drums and percussion), Kiko Loureiro (lead and rhythm guitars, backing vocals, and percussion on "Holy Land"), Luís Mariutti (bass guitar), and André Matos (lead and backing vocals, keyboards, piano, organ, and orchestral arrangements)
  • Additional musicians: Paulo Bento (flutes), Castora (whistles, tamborim. and percussive effects), Pixu Flores (berimbau), The Farrambamba Vocal Group (choir), Celeste Gattai (backing soprano vocals), Reginaldo Gomes (backing bass vocals), Ricardo Kubala (viola), Sascha Paeth (computer/keyboard programming and orchestral arrangements), Holger Stonjek (double bass), and Mônica Thiele (backing alto vocals)
  • Musical style: Power metal, progressive metal, folk metal
  • Sound: Characterized by soaring and fiery dual guitars by Bittencourt and Loureiro, Confessori's and Mariutti's primal and tribal rhythm work, and Matos' incredible and beautiful vocal acrobatics, Angra's "Holy Land" is a true progressive power metal classic!  
  • Major themes: A concept album about the history, land, and people of Brazil, themes on the album include adventure, discovery, life, culture, knowledge, love, etc.
  • Tracks:   
  1. "Crossing"
  2. "Nothing To Say"
  3. "Silence And Distance"
  4. "Carolina IV"
  5. "Holy Land"
  6. "The Shaman"
  7. "Make Believe"
  8. "Z.I.T.O."
  9. "Deep Blue"
  10. "Lullaby For Lucifer"

Brew Info:
  • Brewery: Uinta Brewing Company (Salt Lake City, Utah)
  • Website:
  • Brew: Mirgrator Doppelbock Lager (Limited Release)
  • Style: German Doppelbock
  • Serving: 12 ounce can
  • ABV: 8.0%
  • Pour: The Migrator pours a very hazy, deep mahogany, cola red with a creamy and thick vanilla head with great retention and lots of sticky, intricate, and layered lacing.
  • Nose: The nose is malty, fruity, earthy, slightly boozy, oaky, and sweet.  There are aromas of raisin bread, bourbon-soaked raisins or plums, oak, caramel/toffee, and soft bourbon.
  • Taste: The taste of the Mirgrator follows the nose with fruity, bready, sweet, and slightly boozy flavors.  There are notes of bourbon-soaked raisins, plum, dates, freshly baked bread, coffee cake, toffee, and light bourbon and oak.
  • Mouthfeel: Medium to full-bodied with moderate carbonation, the mouthfeel of the Mirgrator is sticky, chunky, yet smooth with a sweet and slightly boozy finish.
Overall pairing: The bready, malty, sweet, complex, and very drinkable characteristics of the Mirgrator from Uinta Brewing Company make it the perfect brew for rocking out to the progressive power metal stylings of Angra and their wonderful sophomore album!
Saude and hails my friends... listen to some Angra today!  R.I.P. André Matos!!

No comments:

Post a Comment