Wednesday, July 3, 2019

July 3rd, 2019 - Two Hearted Metal Allegiance

Hello and happy Wednesday!  The Meista here today rocking the hell out with a pairing of the kickass self-titled debut album by heavy metal super group Metal Allegiance and a Two Hearted Ale from Bell's Brewery, Inc.!  This pairing goes out to my friends Sonia and Jason who brought me this tasty brew... thanks and cheers you crazy kids!

Album Info:
  • Artist: Metal Allegiance
  • Title: "Metal Allegiance"
  • Recorded: 2015
  • Release date: September 18th, 2015 (1st studio album by Metal Allegiance) 
  • Record company: Nuclear Blast
  • Production: Metal Allegiance
  • Album cover art: ?
  • Personnel: David Ellefson (bass), Mark Menghi (songwriting and bass on tracks "Let Darkness Fall" and "Dying Song"), Mike Portnoy (drums and percussion, and backing vocals), Alex Skolnik (guitars)
  • Guest musicians: Philip H. Anselmo (vocals on "Dying Song"), Charlie Benante (guitar on "Triangulum (I. Creation/II. Evolution/III. Destruction)" and "Pledge Of Allegiance"), Chuck Billy (vocals on "Can't Kill The Devil" and "We Rock"), Randy Blythe (vocals on "Gift Of Pain" and "Let Darkness  Fall"), Rex Brown (bass on "Let Darkness Fall"), Bumblefoot (guitar on "Triangulum (I. Creation/II. Evolution/III. Destruction)"), Phil Demmel (guitar on "Can't Kill The Devil", "Triangulum (I. Creation/II. Evolution/III. Destruction)", and "We Rock"), Matt Heafy (vocals and guitar on "Destination: Nowhere" and guitar on "Triangulum (I. Creation/II. Evolution/III. Destruction)"), Gary Holt (guitar on "Gift Of Pain", "Pledge Of Allegiance", and "We Rock"), Jamey Jasta (vocals on "Wait Until Tomorrow"), Chris Jericho (vocals on "We Rock"), Andreas Kisser (guitar on "Can't Kill The Devil", "Pledge Of Allegiance", and "We Rock"), Misha "Bulb" Mansoor (guitar on "Triangulum (I. Creation/II. Evolution/III. Destruction)"), Mark Osegueda (vocals on "Scars", Pledge Of Allegiance", and "We Rock"), Tim "Ripper" Owens (vocals on "We Rock"), Doug Pinnick (vocals on "Wait Until Tomorrow"), Troy Sanders (vocals on "Let Darkness  Fall"), Cristina Scabbia (vocals on "Scars"), Steve "Zetro" Souza (vocals on "We Rock"), Ben Weinman (guitar on Triangulum (I. Creation/II. Evolution/III. Destruction)"), and Alissa White-Gluz (vocals on "We Rock")
  • Musical style: Heavy metal, thrash metal, groove metal
  • Sound: Blending the styles of the singers on the album with their own influences and origins, Metal Allegiance is the ultimate metal super group!  The songs are aggressive, in-your-face, fist-pumping metal fun!  Skolnik's guitar mastery is as awe-inspiring as it always is, Portnoy is a powerhouse, and the combined bass work of Ellefson and Menghi is a marching army!  And the various singers on the album bring it home and bring it hard!
  • Major themes: Politically and emotionally charged, themes on "Metal Allegiance" include: deception, power, life, death, manipulation, pain, evil, darkness, aggression, violence, heavy metal, etc.
  • Tracks:   
  1. "Gift Of Pain"
  2. "Let Darkness Fall"
  3. "Dying Song"
  4. "Can't Kill The Devil"
  5. "Scars"
  6. "Destination: Nowhere"
  7. "Wait Until Tomorrow"
  8. "Triangulum (I. Creation/II. Evolution/III. Destruction)"
  9. "Pledge Of Allegiance"
  10. "We Rock" (Dio cover)

Brew Info:
  • Brewery: Bell's Brewery, Inc. (Kalamazoo, Michigan)
  • Website:
  • Brew: Two Hearted Ale
  • Style: American Pale Ale (APA)
  • Serving: 12 ounce can
  • ABV: 7.0%
  • IBUs: 60
  • Pour: The Two Hearted Ale pours a very hazy caramel-amber with a frothy, off-white, 2+ finger head with good retention and sticky, intricate lacing.
  • Nose: Hop-forward, the nose is floral, earthy, citrusy, and grainy.  There are aromas of pine resin, grapefruit rind, wild flowers, bitter herbs, sweet caramel, and biscuit.
  • Taste: Similar to the nose, the taste of the Two Hearted Ale is characterized by citrusy, piney, earthy, malty, and floral flavors.  There are notes of pink grapefruit juice, tangerine, orange peel, pine, herbal tea, and soft caramel.
  • Mouthfeel: Medium in body and moderately carbonated, the mouthfeel of the Two Hearted Ale is very crisp, juicy, and smooth with a dry, slightly bitter finish.

Overall pairing: The Bell's Two Hearted Ale is a very crushable and tasty brew with lots of hoppy punch... perfect for pumping your fists and banging your head to the heavy grooves crunching and soaring guitars, and thunderous bass and drums of Metal Allegiance's fiery debut album!!

HAILS!!  Keep it heavy and keep it craft!!

No comments:

Post a Comment