Tuesday, August 20, 2019

August 20th, 2019 - Will To Power Of The Heathen's Reign

 Good evening evil-doers!!  The Meista here tonight pairing Arch Enemy's kickass "Will To Power" and a Heathen Reign from TRVE  Brewing Company!
Album Info:
  • Artist: Arch Enemy
  • Title: "Will To Power"
  • Recorded: 2016 through 2017 at Sweetspot Satellite Studio, Sweetspot Studio, and Studio Mega in Sweden
  • Release date: September 8th, 2017 (10th studio album by Arch Enemy)
  • Record company: Century Media Records
  • Production: Michael Amott and Daniel Erlandsson
  • Album cover art: Alex Reisfar
  • Personnel: Michael Amott (lead and rhythm guitars), Sharlee D'Angelo (bass guitar), Daniel Erlandsson (drums, keyboards, and programming),  Jeff Loomis (lead and rhythm guitars), and Alissa White-Gluz (lead vocals and backing)
  • Additional musicians: Christopher Amott (guitar on "Reason To Believe"), Tony Bauer (viola on "A Fight I Must Win"), Torbjörn Bernhardsson (violin on "A Fight I Must Win"), Christian Bergqvist (violin on "A Fight I Must Win"), Ulf Forsberg (violin on "A Fight I Must Win"), Ulrika Jansson (violin on "A Fight I Must Win"), Jens Johansson (keyboards on "The World Is Yours" and keyboards and harpsichord on ""Dreams Of Retribution"), Per Öman (violin on "A Fight I Must Win"), Riikka Repo (viola on "A Fight I Must Win"), and Johanna Sjunnesson (cello on "A Fight I Must Win")
  • Musical style: Melodic/progressive death metal, progressive metal, and hints of power metal
  • Sound: The sound on "" is a wall of crashing sound!  White-Gluz's ultra-aggressive vocals coupled with the battery ram of sonic ferocity of the band demands your attention from the fiery guitar notes of opener "Set Flame To The Night" to the final punch in the face of "Cry Baby Attacked By Rats".
  • Major themes: Aggression, violence, knowledge, honesty, regret, death, revenge, truth, corruption, believing in oneself, power, etc.
  • Tracks: 
  1. "Set Flame To The Night"
  2. " The Race"
  3. "Blood In The Water"
  4. "The World Is Yours"
  5. "The Eagle Flies Alone"
  6. "Reason To Believe"
  7. "Murder Scene"
  8. "First Day In Hell"
  9. "Saturnine"
  10. "Dreams Of Retribution"
  11. "My Shadow And I"
  12. "A Fight I Must Win"
  13. "Cry Baby Attacked By Rats" (cover)

    Brew Info:
  • Brewery: TRVE Brewing Company (Denver, Colorado)
  • Website: https://www.trvebrewing.com/
  • Brew: Heathen Reign Mixed Culture Golden Ale on Colorado Chokecherries
  • Style: Wild American Ale / Farmhouse Ale / Saison
  • Serving: 12 ounce bottle
  • ABV: 5.7%
  • Pour: The Heathen Reign pours a very hazy, deep ruby red with a light pinkish, foamy, 1-finger head that dissipates to a thin ring and leaves virtually no lacing
  • Nose: The nose is fruity, tart, and funky. There are aromas of chokecherries, cranberry, plum, light lemon, straw, dried fruit, and hints of barnyard funk.
  • Taste: With loads of tart fruit flavors, the taste of the Heathen Reign is tart, fruity, slightly grainy, and funky.  There are notes of chokecherries, cranberry, plum, lemon, light pale grains, Saison yeast, and subtle funk.
  • Mouthfeel: Light to medium in body and moderately carbonated, the mouthfeel is very crisp, a bit tart, and with a very dry finish.
Overall pairing: The punchy, tart, and funky flavors and aromas of  TRVE's Heathen Reign just works so perfectly well with the aggression and intensity of "Will To Power"!  The soaring guitar work of Amott and Loomis shines even brighter with the fruit notes of the Heathen Reign, while that tart bite is right in line with the brutal vocals of Ms. White-Gluz!

Skål and hails!!  Helan går!!

No comments:

Post a Comment