Saturday, February 8, 2020

February 8th, 2020 - Dhyana's Kveik 1

Hey there craft beer fiends and headbangers!  The Meista here today getting heavy and aggressive pairing MaYan's brilliant 3rd album "Dhyana" and a tasty Kveik 1 from Shades Brewing!

Album Info:
  • Artist: MaYan
  • Title: "Dhyana" 
  • Recorded: 2018 at Sandlane Recording Facilities in Rijen, The Netherlands
  • Release date: September 21st, 2018 (3rd studio album by MaYan)
  • Record company: Nuclear Blast
  • Production: Joost van den Broek
  • Album cover art: Stefan Heilemann
  • Personnel: Henning Basse (vocals), Merel Bechtold (guitars), Marcela Bovio (vocals), Jack Driessen (keyboards, orchestration, and backing vocals), Mark Jansen (vocals), Roel Käller (bass), Laura Macrì (vocals), George Oosthoek (vocals), Frank Schiphorst (guitars), and Ariën van Weesenbeek (drums and backing vocals)
  • Additional musicians: Elianne Anemaat (cello), Roman Huijbreghs (acoustic guitars), Joost van den Broek (keyboards), and The City of Prague Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Musical style: Melodic death metal, symphonic death metal
  • Sound: Bombastic, complex, symphonic, and angry, the sound on "Dhyana" blends and juxtaposes soaring orchestral movements with powerful death metal aggression!  Whether clean or growling, the vocal performances are stunning and inspirational, Schiphorst's guitar work is richly textured and fiery fast, Driessen creates an amazing tapestry of complex and intricate keys and orchestration, and Käller and van Weesenbeek lay down a driving and triumphant rhythm of crushing power!
  • Major themes: Freedom, rebellion, life, hope, domination, power, violence, knowledge, etc.
  • Tracks:   
  1. "The Rhythm Of Freedom"
  2. "Tornado of Thoughts (I Don't Think Therefore I Am)"
  3. "Saints Don't Die"
  4. "Dhyana"
  5. "Rebirth From Despair"
  6. "The Power Process"
  7. "The Illusory Self"
  8. "Satori"
  9. "Maya (The Veil Of Delusion)"
  10. "The Flaming Rage Of God"
  11. "Set Me Free"

Brew Info:
  • Brewery: Shades Brewing (Salt Lake City, Utah)
  • Website:
  • Brew: Kveik 1
  • Style: Farmhouse Ale / American-Style Golden Sour Ale
  • Serving: 12 ounce bottle
  • ABV: 6.2% 
  • Ingredients: Nelson Sauvin hops and Norwegian Kveik yeast
  • Pour: The Kveik 1 pours a very murky golden-yellow color with a thin, white head that dissipates quickly, leaving only a thin ring.
  • Nose: The nose is very tart, fruity, hoppy, and floral.  There are aromas of grapefruit, papaya, mango, tangerine, lemon, grassy hops, wild flowers, herbs, and a hint of soft caramel.
  • Taste: The taste of the Kveik 1 is citrusy, tart, and juicy.  There are notes of pink grapefruit, orange peel, papaya, mango, lemon juice, apricot, and a barnyard funk.
  • Mouthfeel: Medium-bodied with moderate carbonation, the mouthfeel is very crisp, tart, somewhat bitter, and juicy, with a dry and peppery finish.
Overall pairing: Brash, flavorful, and complex, the Kveik 1 is a huge blast of interesting flavors... perfect for the sheer power, brutality, beauty, brilliance, and melodic death metal prowess of the mighty MaYan!!  'Nuff said!!
Hails!!  Skål!!

No comments:

Post a Comment