Friday, May 15, 2020

May 15th, 2020 - A Triple Dry Hopped And Hazy Symphony For The Devil

Hello and happy Friday rockers and hopheads!  The Meista here starting the weekend off right with a pairing of the kick-ass "Symphony For The Devil" by Swedish blackened thrash band Witchery and a tasty Triple Dry Hopped Hazy IPA from Kiitos Brewing Company!  

Album Info:
  • Artist: Witchery
  • Title: "Symphony For The Devil" (2007 reissue)
  • Recorded: February 2001 at Berno Studio in Malm√∂, Sweden
  • Release date: September 24th, 2001 (3rd studio album by Witchery)
  • Record company: Necropolis Records / Music For Nations/Sony BMG for the 2007 reissue
  • Production: Witchery and Berno Paulson
  • Album cover art: Niklas Sundin
  • Personnel: Martin Axe (drums), Richard Corpse (lead guitars), Sharlee D'Angelo (bass guitar), Patrik Jensen (rhythm guitars), and Toxine (vocals)
  • Additional musicians: Johan Larsson (vocals on "The Storm" and "Inquisition") and Hank Shermann (guitar on "Hearse Of The Pharaohs")
  • Musical style: Thrash metal with elements of black metal and death metal
  • Sound: !
  • Major themes: Evil, darkness, the occult, death, black magic, horror, etc. 
  • Tracks:   
  1. "The Storm"
  2. "Unholy Wars"
  3. "Inquisition"
  4. "Omens"
  5. "Bone Mill"
  6. "None Buried Deeper..."
  7. "Wicked"
  8. "Called For By Death"
  9. "Hearse Of The Pharaohs"
  10. "Shallow Grave"
  11. "Enshrined"
  12. "The One Within"

    Brew Info:
  • Brewery: Kiitos Brewing Company (Salt Lake City, Utah)
  • Website:
  • Brew: Triple Dry Hopped Hazy IPA
  • Style: New England India Pale Ale (NEIPA)
  • Serving: 16 ounce can
  • ABV: 5.0% 
  • Pour: The Triple Dry Hopped Hazy IPA pours a very cloudy, bright orange-yellow with a creamy, 2+finger white head with great retention and lots of soapy lacing throughout.
  • Nose: The nose is earthy, dank, fruity, and slightly sweet.  There are aromas of orange juice, orange zest, tangerine, freshly cut pineapple, pine resin, grapefruit rind, flowery soap, crackery malt, and light caramel.
  • Taste: The taste of the Triple Dry Hopped Hazy IPA is fruity, citrusy, and herbal.  There are notes of orange juice, grapefruit juice, tangerine, pineapple, peach, mango, light melon, light pine, floral and grassy hops, and light caramel.
  • Mouthfeel: Medium-bodied with moderate carbonation, the mouthfeel of the Triple Dry Hopped Hazy IPA is crisp, sharp, and piney with a dry, slightly bitter finish.

Overall pairing: The hop-forward, very refreshing, and crushability of the Kiitos Triple Dry Hopped Hazy IPA is perfect for the metal bite and aggression of Witchery's killer "Symphony For The Devil"!  Those bright, fruity flavors go great with the searing guitars while the bitter hop notes go great with the themes and overall aggression of the songs!

Kippis!!  HAILS!

No comments:

Post a Comment