Sunday, September 13, 2020

September 13th, 2020 - This Yacht Rock Juice Box Is An Ocean Machine


Hey there beer and music freaks!  Your drinkin' buddy the Meista here pairing a Yacht Rock Juice Box Juicy IPA from Proper Brewing Company and "Ocean Machine Live at the Ancient Roman Theatre, Plovdiv" by the amazingly talented Devin Townsend Project!

Album Info: 

  • Artist: Devin Townsend Project
  • Title: "Ocean Machine Live at the Ancient Roman Theatre, Plovdiv"
  • Recorded: at the Ancient Roman Theatre in Plovdiv, Bulgaria
  • Release date: July 6th, 2018 (3rd live album by the Devin Townsend Project)
  • Record company: InsideOut Music
  • Production: Devin Townsend, Paul M. Green, and Andy Farrow
  • Album cover art: Aleksandar Živanov
  • Personnel: Devin Townsend (lead vocals and guitars), Mike St. Jean (keyboards), Ryan van Poederooyen (drums), Brian Waddell (bass), and Dave Young (guitars)
  • Additional musicians: the Plovdiv Philharmonic Orchestra and Choir, and JR Harder (bass)
  • Musical style: Progressive metal/rock, hard rock, alternative rock, heavy metal, ambient
  • Sound: Bombastic, yet honest, bold and complex, heavy and beautiful, the sound on "Ocean Machine Live at the Ancient Roman Theatre, Plovdiv" is a wonderfully powerful blend of heavy metal, progressive rock, folk rock, and ambient passages.   
  • Major themes: Death and life, depression, isolation, pain, music, art, love, loss, etc.
  • Of the album, Townsend stated: "Plovdiv and this live package represents a lot to me, it signifies the end of one era, and the celebration of another. Amidst a grueling touring year, this show came together with much blood, sweat, and tears, and the result is the culmination of many aspects of my work on one stage. Ocean Machine was released 20 years ago, and though Marty (Chapman) is no longer with us, I was able to finally perform the album in its entirety with the original bassist John 'Squid' Harder on this night. On a cold evening in an old city in the ancient theatre, many lifelong milestones came to a conclusion on this night and I'm exceptionally proud of it."
  • Tracks:   
Disc 1
    1. "Truth" 
    2. "Stormbending"
    3. "Om"
    4. "Failure"
    5. "By Your Command"
    6. "Gaia"
    7. "Deadhead"
Disc 2
    1. "Canada"
    2. "Bad Devil"
    3. "Higher"
    4. "A Simple Lullaby"
    5. "Deep Peace"
Disc 3
    1. "Seventh Wave"
    2. "Life"
    3. "Night"
    4. "Hide Nowhere"
    5. "Sister"
    6. "3 A.M."
    7. "Voices In The Fan"
    8. "Greetings"
    9. "Regulator"
    10. "Funereal"
    11. "Bastard: Not One Of My Better Days/The Girl From Blue City"
    12. "The Death Of Music"
    13. "Thing Beyond Things"

Brew Info:

  • Brewery: Proper Brewing Company (Salt Lake City, Utah)
  • Website: 
  • Brew: Yacht Rock Juice Box Juicy IPA 
  • Style: American India Pale Ale (IPA)
  • Serving: 16 ounce can
  • ABV: 5.0%
  • Pour: The Yacht Rock Juice Box pours a hazy golden-yellow hue with a 1-finger, frothy and creamy, bright white head with good retention and lots of soapy lacing.
  • Nose: The nose of the Yacht Rock Juice Box is very fruity, citrusy, malty, and slightly spicy.  There are aromas of grapefruit, orange, tangerine, lime, lemon zest, light pineapple, mango, toasted caramel, light pine resin, and a hint of white pepper. 
  • Taste: Like the nose, the taste of the Yacht Rock Juice Box is citrusy, fruity, and malty.  There are notes of orange juice, grapefruit juice, tangerine, lime, light pine, flowery hops, biscuit, caramel/toffee, and a little pepper in the finish. 
  • Mouthfeel: Medium-bodied and moderately carbonated, the mouthfeel is juicy, crisp, and slightly bitter with a dry, fairly clean finish.

Overall pairing: The Proper Brewing Yacht Rock Juice Box is a juicy, complex, yet very drinkable brew... perfect to throw back while listening to the incredibly wonderful and mesmerizing musical prowess of Devin Townsend and his band on the brilliant "Ocean Machine Live at the Ancient Roman Theatre, Plovdiv" album!  'Nuff said!


No comments:

Post a Comment