Friday, November 13, 2020

November 13th, 2020 - Baptism Of Campfire Amplifiers!


Hails rockers and craft brew lovers!  The Meista here on this cold Friday the 13th rocking the hell out to a pairing of  the wonderful "Baptism Of Fire: The Collection 1991-2009" by metal monsters Saxon and a Campfire Amplifier! from Dogfish Head Craft Brewery Inc.!

Album Info:
  • Artist: Saxon
  • Title: "Baptism Of Fire: The Collection 1991-2009" 
  • Recorded: 1990 to 2009 at various studios
  • Release date: August 5th, 2016 (19th compilation album by Saxon)
  • Record company: Music Club Deluxe / Demon / Edsel
  • Production: Saxon and Allen Ward
  • Album cover art: Tony Hodsoll (design)
  • Personnel: Bill Byford (lead and backing vocals), Nibbs Carter (bass and keyboards), Nigel Glockler (drums), Jörg Michael (drums), Graham Oliver (guitars), Paul Quinn (guitars), Fritz Randow (drums), and Doug Scarratt (guitars)
  • Additional musicians: Chris Bay (keyboards), Rainer Hänsel (guitars), Gigi Skokan (keyboards and programming), Chris Stubley (keyboards), and Matthias Ulmer (keyboards) 
  • Musical style: Heavy metal, hard rock
  • Sound: In the 1990s, Saxon took command of the production of their albums and by doing so completely redefined themselves with a heaviness and passion that hadn't been heard since the early days of the band.  The tone of the entire collection is massive with explosive guitar riffs, thunderous drums and bass, and Biff's distinctive and brilliant vocals!
  • Major themes: Rock and roll, heavy metal, war, valor, bravery, mythology, freedom, lust, life and death, good vs. evil, etc.
  • Tracks:   
  1. "Solid Ball Of Rock"
  2. "Requiem (We Will Remember)"
  3. "Altar Of The Gods"
  4. "Baptism Of Fire"
  5. "Forever Free"
  6. "Iron Wheels"
  7. "Nighthunter"
  8. "Just Wanna Make Love To You"
  9. "Dogs Of War"
  10. "The Great White Buffalo"
  11. "Demolition Alley"
  12. "Gothic Dreams"
  13. "Unleash The Beast"
  14. "Terminal Velocity"
  15. "The Thin Red Line"
  16. "Ministry Of Fools"
  17. "Intro"
  18. "Metalhead"
  19. "Conquistador"
  20. "All Guns Blazing"
  21. "Intro"
  22. "Killing Ground"
  23. "Dragons Lair"
  24. "The Court Of The Crimson King" (King Crimson cover)
  25. "Witchfinder General"
  26. "Lionheart"
  27. "Beyond The Grave"
  28. "I've Got To Rock (To Stay Alive)"
  29. "If I Was You"
  30. "Atila The Hun"
  31. "Battalions Of Steel"
  32. "Slow Lane Blues"
  33. "Live To Rock"
  34. "Demon Sweeney Todd"

 Brew Info:
  • Brewery: Dogfish Head Craft Brewery Inc. (Milton, Delaware)
  • Website: 
  • Brew: Campfire Amplifier!
  • Style: Milk Stout 
  • Serving: 12 ounce bottle
  • ABV: 6.5%
  • IBUs: 35
  • Ingredients: Milk stout  brewed with marshmallows, graham crackers, cocoa nibs, cinnamon, Madagascar vanilla beans, and smoked malt
  • Pour: The Campfire Amplifier! pours an opaque, dark brown (almost black) with a thick an frothy, light mocha head that dissipates to a dark mocha cap with soapy lacing.
  • Nose: The nose is sweet, earthy, chocolaty, rich, and smoky.  There are aromas of dark chocolate, cocoa, black licorice, light cinnamon, graham cracker, toasted malt, light smoke, oak, fresh cream, marshmallow, vanilla bean, and burnt toffee.
  • Taste: The taste of the Campfire Amplifier! is chocolaty, malty, roasty, toasty, and sweet.  There are notes of milk chocolate, dark chocolate, Merlot, light cinnamon, graham crackers, smoked malt, cream, marshmallow, vanilla, and burnt toffee.  
  • Mouthfeel: Full-bodied with very low carbonation, the mouthfeel of the Campfire Amplifier! is thick, velvety, and smooth with a dry, sweet, slightly smoky finish.
Overall pairing: The Campfire Amplifier! is a very complex, intensely flavorful, rich, and tasty brew... perfect for the heavy metal punch, richly textured song structure, and musical prowess of the mighty Saxon!  Hell yeah!  I picked up this album from my buddy Kevin at the Heavy Metal Shop... and  you should too!  'Nuff said!

Cheers and hails!!

No comments:

Post a Comment