Thursday, November 11, 2021

November 11th, 2021 - The Highwayman's Mountain Jam


Evenin' pardners!  Your pal the Meista here tonight pairing something I normally do not... a country album!  That's right, tonight I'm pairing "Highwayman", the debut album by country "supergroup" The Highwaymen and a tasty Mountain Jam Vol. 6 Double Dry Hopped Hazy IPA from Roadhouse Brewing Company! 

Album Info:
  • Artist: The Highwaymen
  • Title: "Highwayman"
  • Recorded: Late 1984 through early 1985
  • Release date: May 6th, 1985 (1st studio album by The Highwaymen)
  • Record company: Columbia Nashville
  • Production: Chips Moman
  • Album cover art: Bill Imhoff 
  • Personnel: Johnny Cash (vocals), Waylon Jennings (vocals and guitars), Kris Kristofferson (vocals), and Willie Nelson (vocals and guitars)
  • Additional musicians: Gene Chrisman (drums), J.R. Cobb (guitars), Paul Davis (keyboards and backing vocals), Bobby Emmons (keyboards), Mike Leech (bass guitar), Chips Moman (guitars and backing vocals), Mickey Raphael (harmonica), Johnny Rodriguez (backing vocals), Marty Stuart (guitar and mandolin), Jimmy Tittle (bass guitar), Bobby Wood (keyboards), and Reggie Young (guitars)
  • Musical style: Country, western, outlaw country, folk, Americana
  • Sound: Blending the styles of 4 legendary outlaw country performers, the sound on the "Highwayman" is pure country gold!  It is honest, it is heartfelt, and it is rebellious.  And they surrounded themselves with a plethora of incredible backing talent!  Of their vocals, Willie Nelson once said, "You wouldn't think our four uneven voices would blend. But they did. They fit together like a jigsaw puzzle."
  • Major themes: Life and death, rebellion, crime, cowboys, mythology, the passage of time, honesty, self-reliance, etc. 
  • Tracks:  
      1. "Highwayman"
      2. "The Last Cowboy Song"
      3. "Jim, I Wore A Tie Today"
      4. "Big River"
      5. "Committed To Parkview"
      6. "Desperados Waiting For A Train"
      7. "Deportee (Plane Wreck At Los Gatos)"
      8. "Welfare Line"
      9. "Against The Wind"
      10. "The Twentieth Century Is Almost Over"

    Brew Info:
    • Brewery: Roadhouse Brewing Company (Jackson Hole, Wyoming)
    • Website:
    • Brew: Mountain Jam Vol. 6 Double Dry Hopped Hazy IPA
    • Style: New England India Pale Ale (NEIPA)
    • Serving: 16 ounce can
    • ABV: 8.0% 
    • Pour: The Mountain Jam Vol. 6 pours a hazy, bright yellow-gold with a frothy, 2-finger bright white head with great retention and lots of sticky, intricate lacing.
    • Nose: The nose is citrusy, tropical, earthy, resony, and malty.  There are aromas of grapefruit rind, tangerine, orange pith, mango, pineapple, stone fruit, herbal tea, pine resin, biscuit, and soft caramel.
    • Taste: The taste of the Mountain Jam Vol. 6 follows the nose with lots of citrus, tropical fruit, pine, and light malt flavors.  There are notes of pink grapefruit, orange juice, tangerine, lime, mango, melon, peach, pine, hints of coconut, grassy hops, sweet biscuit, and light toffee.
    • Mouthfeel: The mouthfeel is very crisp, juicy, and smooth with a dry, slightly bitter finish.

    Overall pairing: The Mountain Jam Vol. 6 from Roadhouse Brewing Company is a very drinkable, tasty, complex, and refreshing brew... great for throwing back whilst listening to the outlaw country stylings of the legendary Highwaymen!  'Nuff said!

    Cheers!!  Giddy up!!

    No comments:

    Post a Comment