Thursday, November 25, 2021

November 25th, 2021 - His Infernal Majesty's Anniversary Talisman


Hails metal maniacs and artisan brew freaks!  Today I'm celebrating Thanksgiving and the fifth anniversary of Talisman Brewing with a pairing of their delightful 2021 Anniversary Ale and the wonderful "In His Infernal Majesty's Service" by Witchery, which is also exactly 5 years old today!  Hell yeah!

Album Info:
  • Artist: Witchery
  • Title: "In His Infernal Majesty's Service"
  • Recorded: 2016 at Dug Out Studio in Uppsala, Sweden, Dead Sparrow Studio, Whitelight Studio, and Eleven Studios 
  • Release date: November 25th, 2016 (6th full-length studio album by Witchery)
  • Record company: Century Media Records
  • Production: Patrik Jensen and Witchery
  • Album cover art: Andreas Diaz Pettersson 
  • Personnel: Chris Barkensjö (drums and percussion), Sharlee D'Angelo (bass guitar), Patrik Jensen (rhythm guitar), Angus Norder (vocals), and Rille Rimfält (lead and rhythm guitars)
  • Additional musicians: Martin Axenrot (drums on "Eye For An Eye" and "Cloak And Dagger"), Nicholas Barker (additional vocals on "The Burning Of Salem"), Johan Larsson (additional vocals on "Lavey-athan" and "Eye For An Eye"), Legion (vocals on "Eye For An Eye" and "Cloak And Dagger"), Jason Netherton (additional vocals on "The Burning Of Salem"), Niels Nielsen (keyboards and sound effects), and Hank Shermann (guitar solo on "Escape from Dunwich Valley") 
  • Musical style: Blackened thrash metal, speed metal, death metal
  • Sound: Blending fiery fast thrash and speed metal elements with extreme blackened and death metal elements, the sound on Witchery's "In His Infernal Majesty's Service" is a thing of infernal wonder and joy! 
  • Major themes: Horror, the occult, evil, darkness, Satan, death, mythology, violence, etc.
  • Tracks:   
  1. "Lavey-athan"
  2. "Zoroast"
  3. "Netherworld Emperor"
  4. "Nosferatu"
  5. "The Burning Of Salem"
  6. "Gilded Fang"
  7. "Empty Tombs"
  8. "In Warm Blood"
  9. "Escape from Dunwich Valley"
  10. "Feed The Gun"
  11. "Oath Breaker"
  12. "Eye For An Eye" (bonus track)
  13. "Cloak And Dagger" (bonus track)

Brew Info:
  • Brewery: Talisman Brewing Company (Ogden, Utah)
  • Website:
  • Brew: 2021Anniversary Ale 
  • Style: Saison / Farmhouse Ale
  • Serving: 22 ounce bottle
  • ABV: 8.5%
  • Ingredients: French Saison Ale aged in Pinot Noir wine barrels 
  • Pour: The 2021 Anniversary Ale pours a slightly hazy, golden yellow with a 1-finger, off-white head that dissipates fairly quickly and leaves trace lacing.
  • Nose: The nose is very fruity, earthy, slightly spicy, funky, and oaky.  There are big aromas of pear, Pinot Noir wine, lemon zest, apricot, and more subtle hints of wet leather, caramel, booze, and woody oak.
  • Taste: The taste of the Talisman 2021 Anniversary Ale follows the nose with lots of tangy fruity, earthy, slightly spicy, and woody flavors.  There are big notes of Pinot Noir wine, apricot, and woody oak.
  • Mouthfeel: Medium-bodied with good carbonation, the mouthfeel of the 2021Anniversary Ale is crisp, with a sharp and slightly boozy finish.

Overall pairing: The Talisman 2021Anniversary Ale is a very bold and very complex brew with loads of delicious flavor and character, which is perfect for the depth, passion, musical prowess, and intensity of Witchery!  Need I say more?

Skål and hails!!

No comments:

Post a Comment