Saturday, November 27, 2021

November 27th, 2021 - Conducting Covert Hoperations In The Secret Garden


Good evening and happy Saturday rockers, rollers, and hop heads!  Your drinkin' buddy the Meista here tonight rocking the hell out to a pairing of a Limited Release Beer #3: Covert Hoperation Double IPA from the fine folks at 2 Row Brewing Company and Angra's wonderful "Secret Garden" album!  Yes!

Album Info:
  • Artist: Angra
  • Title: "Secret Garden"
  • Recorded: August 2014 at Fascination Street Studios in Örebro, Sweden.  Additional recording at Estúdio Nação Musical in Brazil and at Eden Studios in Italy.
    Release date: January 16th, 2015 (8th full-length studio album by Angra)
  • Record company: Edel Music / Victor
  • Production: Roy Z and Jens Bogren
  • Album cover art: Rodrigo Bastos Didier
  • Personnel: Felipe Andreoli (bass, additional rhythm guitar, and backing vocals), Rafael Bittencourt (rhythm guitars, acoustic guitar, keyboard arrangements, and lead and backing vocals), Fabio Lione (lead vocals), Kiko Loureiro (lead guitar, keyboard arrangements, and backing vocals), and Bruno Valverde (drums)
  • Guest musicians: Doro Pesch vocals on "Crushing Room" and Simone Simons (vocals on "Secret Garden")
  • Musical style: Progressive metal, power metal
  • Sound: Characterized by soaring and fiery dual guitars by Bittencourt and Loureiro, Andreoli's and Valverde's powerful rhythm work, and Lione's and Bittencourt's incredible and beautiful vocal acrobatics, Angra's "Secret Garden" is a true progressive power metal classic!  Of the album's sound, Loureiro stated: "The musical changes always happen because we change as persons as well. So not only the lineup changes. So you can expect some changes, of course, with Fabio, a different voice. We try to search for new ways of doing music, so for sure you guys are gonna hear some different and new stuff, but the core and the essence of Angra is gonna be always there anyway."
  • Major themes: Life, discovery, rebirth, adventure, love, emotion, secrets, knowledge, mythology, etc.
  • Tracks: 
  1. "Newborn Me"
  2. "Black Hearted Soul"
  3. "Final Light"
  4. "Storm Of Emotions"
  5. "Synchronicity II" (The Police cover)
  6. "Violet Sky"
  7. "Secret Garden"
  8. "Upper Levels"
  9. "Crushing Room"
  10. "Perfect Symmetry"
  11. "Silent Call"

Brew Info:
  • Brewery: 2 Row Brewing Company (Murray, Utah)
  • Website:
  • Brew: Limited Release Beer #3: Covert Hoperation
  • Style: Double India Pale Ale (DIPA) / Imperial IPA (IIPA)
  • Serving: 12 ounce bottle
  • ABV: 9.0%
  • Ingredients: Citra, El Dorado, and Mosaic hops 
  • Pour: The Covert Hoperation pours a hazy golden-orange amber with a creamy, bright white 2-finger head with great retention and intricate spider web lacing.
  • Nose: The nose is very fruity (tropical and citrus), floral, malty, and sweet.  There are aromas of pineapple juice, orange juice, orange jelly candies, grapefruit rind, tangerine, mango, guava, stone fruits (peach and apricot), wild flowers, herbal tea, sweet caramel, and just a hint of pine.
  • Taste: The taste follows the nose... very fruity, sweet, slightly boozy, and malty with low bitterness.  There are big flavors of pineapple, orange, tangerine, and mango along with sweet caramel, herbal tea, and sweet liqueur.
  • Mouthfeel: Medium to full-bodied and moderately carbonated, the mouthfeel of the Covert Hoperation is sticky, thick, sweet, yet crisp and hoppy with a dry and slightly boozy finish.

Overall pairing: The citrusy aromas and flavors and the overall dangerous crushability of the Covert Hoperation make for an excellent pairing with amazing vocals of Lione, Bittencourt, and guests Doro and Simone SimonsBittencourt's and Loureiro's phenomenal soaring guitar riffs, and the wonderfully intricate and rhythmic bass and drums of Andreoli and Valverde!  'Nuff said!

 Saude and hails my friends!

No comments:

Post a Comment