Saturday, April 9, 2022

April 9th, 2022 - Look At Yourself. You Look Like Haze.


Hello rockers, rollers, and hopheads!  The Meista here raising a pint and rocking the hell out to a pairing of a delicious and juicy Looks Like Haze (Deadhead IPA Series) from DESTIHL Brewery and "Look At Yourself", the brilliant 3rd album by the mighty and legendary Uriah Heep!  Hell yeah!

Album Info:
  • Artist: Uriah Heep
  • Title: "Look At Yourself"
  • Recorded: July 1971 at Lansdowne Studios in London, England
  • Release date: September 1971 (3rd studio album by Uriah Heep)
  • Record company: Bronze Records / Mercury Records
  • Production: Gerry Bron
  • Album cover art: 
  • Personnel: Mick Box (lead and acoustic guitars), David Byron (lead vocals), Ian Clark (drums), Ken Hensley (electric and acoustic guitarsorganpiano, backing vocals, and lead vocals on "Look At Yourself"), and Paul Newton (bass)
  • Additional musicians: Loughty Amao (percussion on "Look at Yourself"), Manfred Mann (Moog synthesizer on "July Morning" and "Tears in My Eyes"), Ted Osei  (percussion on "Look at Yourself"),, and Mac Tontoh  (percussion on "Look at Yourself")
  • Musical style: Hard rock, heavy metal, progressive rock with elements of heavy blues, folk rock, jazz fusion
  • Sound: A very solid and powerful musical journey, songs like title track "Look At Yourself", "July Morning", "Tears In My Eyes", and "Love Machine" helped to really lay down that amazing signature Uriah Heep sound!  Byron's vocals soar, Clark and Newton bring the thunder, Box tears it up with amazing riffs, and Hensley is simply brilliant!
  • Major themes: The album explores themes of love, freedom, introspection, life, happiness, grief, loss, etc.
  • Tracks:
  1. "Look At Yourself"
  2. "I Wanna Be Free"
  3. "July Morning"
  4. "Tears In My Eyes"
  5. "Shadows Of Grief"
  6. "What Should Be Done"
  7. "Love Machine"

Brew Info:
  • Brewery: DESTIHL Brewery (Normal, Illinois)
  • Website:
  • Brew: Looks Like Haze (Deadhead IPA Series)
  • Style: India Pale Ale (IPA)
  • Serving: 16 ounce can
  • ABV: 7.0%
  • Ingredient: "2-row malt, flaked oats, wheat, and an ensemble of Columbus, Mosaic and Idaho 7™ hops"
  • Pour: The Looks Like Haze pours a very hazy pale golden-yellow with a frothy, bright white, 1+ finger head with good retention and lots of sticky lacing.
  • Nose: The nose is very citrusy, tropical, floral, dank, and herbal.  There are aromas of orange peel, lemon zest, grapefruit rind, pineapple, mango, wild flowers, pine resin, herbal tea, crackery biscuit, and sweet caramel.
  • Taste: Like the nose, the taste of the Looks Like Haze is citrusy, tropical, slightly acidic, earthy, and herbal.  Hop-forward, there are notes of tangerine, pink grapefruit juice, mango, grassy hops, orange tea, pine, and sweet toffee.
  • Mouthfeel: Medium to full-bodied with moderate carbonation, the mouthfeel is very crisp, juicy, and smooth with a dry, bitter, slightly boozy finish.

Overall pairing: Those punchy and juicy hops of the DESTIHL Haze Of The Dead are dangerously crushable and work great with the overall explosive power that is Uriah Heep!  I highly recommend this album and the brew!  I purchased the album from my good buddy Kevin at the Heavy Metal Shop... and you can too!  Check him out at!  'Nuff said!


No comments:

Post a Comment