Friday, August 19, 2022

August 19th, 2022 - The Harmonique Of A Metal Discharge


Guten abend!  The Meista here again with another killer brew and killer album pairing for ya my friends!  Tonight, I'm rocking out to German thrash metal legends, Destruction and their "Metal Discharge" album along with a crisp and tasty E9 Harmonique from E9 Brewing Company

Album Info: 

  • Artist: Destruction
  • Title: "Metal Discharge"
  • Recorded: 2003 at Little Creek Studio in Gelterkinden, Switzerland 
    Release date: September 22, 2003 (8th studio album by Destruction)
  • Record company: Nuclear Blast Records
  • Production: VO Pulver and Destruction
  • Album cover art: Marco "Schweini Pig" Schirmer 
  • Personnel: Marc "Speedy" Reign (drums and backing vocals), Schmier (bass and vocals) and Mike Sifringer (guitars)
  • Additional musicians: Andre Grieder (backing vocals), Inga Pulver (backing vocals), VO Pulver (additional guitars on "The Ravenous Beast" and backing vocals), "Tschibu" (backing vocals), and Franky Winkelmann (backing vocals
  • Musical style: Thrash metal
  • Sound: This is classic Destruction!  The songs are characterized by raw, fiery fast guitar riffs, machine gun fire drumming, and thunderous bass along with Schmier's aggressive broken glass and gravel vocals.  Killer, pure German thrash metal!!
  • Major themes: Violence, socio-political criticism, heavy metal, anger, death, evil, terror, revenge, etc.
  • Tracks: 
  1. "The Ravenous Beast"
  2. "Metal Discharge"
  3. "Rippin' The Flesh Apart"
  4. "Fear Of The Moment"
  5. "Mortal Remains"
  6. "Desecrators Of The New Age"
  7. "Historical Force Feed"
  8. "Savage Symphony Of Terror"
  9. "Made To Be Broken"
  10. "Vendetta"
  11. "Killers" (Iron Maiden cover)
  12. "Bestial Invasion" (demo version 2003)
  13. "The Butcher Strikes Back" (demo version 2003)
  14. "Nailed To The Cross" (demo version 2003)
  15. "Metal Discharge" (demo version 2003)

Brew Info:

  • Brewery: E9 (Tacoma, Washington)
  • Website:
  • Brew: E9 Harmonique 
  • Style: German-style Helles Lager 
  • Serving: 16 ounce can
  • ABV: 4.7%
  • Pour: The E9 Harmonique pours a clear, golden yellow hue with a frothy, bright white, 2+ finger head that slowly dissipates to a thin, yet sustained ring with lots of sticky and sudsy lacing.
  • Nose: The nose is grainy, grassy, and slightly fruity.  There are aromas of crackery biscuit malts, grassy hops, lemon zest, light white grape juice, a hint of apple, and a hint of fresh honey.
  • Taste: The taste of the E9 Harmonique is similar to the nose with lots of crackery cereal grains, grassy hops, zesty lemon, light white grape juice, and a hint of earthy honey.
  • Mouthfeel: Light-bodied and well carbonated, the mouthfeel is crisp, smooth, and refreshing with a clean finish.

Overall pairing: The very crushable, crisp, grainy, and slightly fruity flavors and aromas of the E9 Harmonique are
 the perfect beer for an evening of heavy duty headbanging with Destruction's killer "Metal Discharge"!  The grainy notes are great for the aggressive machine gun fire guitars and drums, while the sweeter fruit and malt aromas and flavors are a great foil to Schmier's gravely and angry vocals!

Prost and hails!!!

No comments:

Post a Comment