Saturday, March 25, 2023

March 25th, 2023 - Fisher IPA.. Best Of The West!


Hey there thrashers, headbangers, and craft brew lovers!  Happy Saturday!  The Meista here today rocking the hell out to "Best Of The West... The Mega Years Live At The Whisky A Go Go", the kick-ass, live album by Kings Of Thrash and a very tasty Fisher IPA from Fisher Brewing Company!  Hell yeah!

Album Info:
  • Artist: Kings Of Thrash
  • Title: "Best Of The West... The Mega Years Live At The Whisky A Go Go"
  • Recorded: October 15th, 2022 at the Whisky A Go Go 
  • Release date: March 24th, 2023 (1st full-length live album by Kings Of Thrash)
  • Record company: Cleopatra Records
  • Production:  Kings Of Thrash 
  • Album cover art: ?
  • Personnel: Fred Aching (drums), David Ellefson (bass and backing vocals), Chaz Leon (guitar and lead vocals), and Jeff Young (lead guitar)
  • Guest musician: Chris Polland (guitar)
  • Musical style: Thrash metal, heavy metal
  • Sound: Fast, fiery, and angry as hell, this is pure, classic thrash!  The wickedly pissed off vocals work perfectly with Young's ripping guitars and thunderous rhythm section of Ellefson and Aching!  
  • Major themes: Freedom, rebellion, aggression, evil, darkness, sorrow, lust, death, vengeance, violence, war, etc.
  • Tracks:  
Disc 1: CD
  1. "Last Rites"
  2. "Rattlehead"
  3. "The Skull Beneath The Skin"
  4. "Good Mourning / Devil's Island"
  5. "Wake Up Dead"
  6. "502"
  7. "In My Darkest Hour"

Disc 2: CD
  1. "Orange Light"
  2. "Into The Lungs Of Hell"
  3. "Set The World Afire"
  4. "Killing Is My Business... And Business Is Good"
  5. "Chosen Ones"
  6. "Liar"
  7. "Hook In Mouth"
  8. "Mechanix"
  9. "These Boots Are Made For Walkin'"
  10. "Peace Sells... But Who's Buying?"

Disc 3: DVD
  1. "Last Rites"
  2. "Rattlehead"
  3. "The Skull Beneath The Skin"
  4. "Good Mourning / Devil's Island"
  5. "Wake Up Dead"
  6. "502"
  7. "In My Darkest Hour"
  8. "Orange Light"
  9. "Into The Lungs Of Hell"
  10. "Set The World Afire"
  11. "Killing Is My Business... And Business Is Good"
  12. "Chosen Ones"
  13. "Liar"
  14. "Hook In Mouth"
  15. "Mechanix"
  16. "These Boots Are Made For Walkin'"
  17. "Peace Sells... But Who's Buying?"

Brew Info:
  • Brewery: Fisher Brewing Company (Salt Lake City, Utah)
  • Website: 
  • Brew: Fisher IPA
  • Style: American India Pale Ale (IPA)
  • Serving: 32 ounce crowler can
  • ABV: 7.6% 
  • Ingredients: Lupomax Citra hops
  • Pour: The Fisher IPA pours a clear, caramel-amber with frothy and billowy, 1-finger off-white head with great retention and lots of sticky, intricate lacing.
  • Nose: The nose is citrusy, fruity, floral, herbal, and slightly sweet.  There are aromas of grapefruit rind, orange zest and pitch, tangerine, light pineapple, wildflowers, a hint of pine resin, crackery grains, and soft caramel.
  • Taste: The taste of the Fisher IPA follows the nose with big notes of orange juice, pink grapefruit juice, tangerine, light pineapple, light mango, a hint of pine, white pepper, and toffee/caramel.
  • Mouthfeel: Medium to full-bodied and moderately carbonated, the mouthfeel of the Fisher IPA is very crisp, yet smooth with a dry, slightly bitter finish.

Overall pairing: The Fisher IPA is very crushable, yet a very punchy, complex, and flavorful brew ... a perfect brew to accompany the classic thrash metal live onslaught that is the mighty Kings Of Thrash!!  'Nuff said! 

Cheers and hails headbangers!! 

Make sure to check out my interview with guitarist Jeff Young here:

No comments:

Post a Comment