Saturday, September 16, 2023

September 16th , 2023 - The True Colors Of The Chick Flip


Here's something a little different for you today...  Your heavy metal drinking buddy the Meista here on this Saturday with something not metal... an album from my wife's collection... Cyndi Lauper's wonderful "True Colors" album (which turns 37 today) and a tasty and easy drinking Chick Flip West Coast Pils, a Pink Boots collaboration from the fine folks at Bewilder Brewing Company!

Album Info:
  • Artist: Cyndi Lauper
  • Title: "True Colors"
  • Recorded: November 1985 through May 1986 at The Power Station and The Hilt Factory in New York City, New York
  • Release date: September 16th, 1986 (2nd studio album by Cyndi Lauper)
  • Record company: Portrait
  • Production: Cyndi Lauper and Lennie Petze
  • Album cover art: Cyndi Lauper (art direction), Annie Leibovitz (photography), and Holland Macdonald (art direction and design)
  • Personnel: Cyndi Lauper (lead and backing vocals, jam box, and emulator voice) with The Bangles (backing vocals), Adrian Belew (guitars), Jeff Bova (keyboards and arrangements), Jimmy Bralower (LinnDrum programming, percussion, jam box, and arrangements), Angela Clemmons-Patrick (backing vocals), Rick Derringer (guitars), Anton Fig (drums), Jon Goldberger (sound effects), Ellie Greenwich (backing vocals), Pee Wee Herman (guest operator), Robert Holmes (guitars), Neil Jason (bass guitar), Billy Joel (backing vocals), Stephen Broughton Lunt (arrangements), Aimee Mann (backing vocals), John McCurry (guitars), Lennie Petze (percussion, backing vocals, and arrangements), Nile Rodgers (guitars), and Peter Wood (keyboards, synthesizer bass, and arrangements)
  • Musical style: Pop, rock
  • Sound: Energetic, quirky, heartfelt, and wonderfully executed, the sound on "True Colors" expands what Lauper realized with her first album but adds maturity and self-awareness.  Vocally it is flawless.  There is a beautiful, honest, and wonderfully unique approach to her singing that really resonates.  Although some of the electronic drumming and synthesizers sound a little dated, the overall musical approach is richly textured and the guest performances from rock and pop royalty provides bonus love from me!
  • Major themes: Life, love, relationships, changes, conviction, courage, self-respect, etc.
  • Tracks: 
  1. "Change Of Heart"
  2. "Maybe He'll Know"
  3. "Boy Blue"
  4. "True Colors"
  5. "Calm Inside The Storm"
  6. "What's Going On"
  7. "Iko Iko"
  8. "The Faraway Nearby"
  9. "911"
  10. "One Track Mind"

Brew Info:
  • Brewery: Bewilder Brewing Company (Salt Lake City, Utah)
  • Website:
  • Brew: Chick Flip West Coast Pils
  • Style: Hoppy American Pilsner
  • Serving: 16 ounce can
  • ABV: 5.0%
  • IBUs: 35
  • Pour: The Chick Flip pours a clear, bright golden-yellow with a thin, eggshell white, frothy head with good retention and lacing.
  • Nose: The nose is grainy, crackery, grassy, and hoppy.  There are aromas of freshly baked sourdough bread, crackery biscuit, lemongrass, grapefruit rind, lemon zest, a hint of honey, and freshly cut wild grass.
  • Taste: Following the nose, the taste is malty, citrusy, crackery, and grassy.  There are notes of crackery biscuit, cracked wheat, lemongrass, lemon zest, an ever so slight hint of honey, grassy hops, and light caramel.
  • Mouthfeel: Light to medium-bodied and well carbonated, the mouthfeel is very crisp and refreshing with a dry, clean, yet slightly bitter finish.

Overall pairing: The Bewilder Chick Flip West Coast Pils is a very tasty, very light, very crisp, very drinkable brew... perfect for bright, pop sensibilities and wonderful song craftmanship of the one and only, Ms. Cyndi Lauper on her "True Colors" album!  'Nuff said!


No comments:

Post a Comment