Friday, January 19, 2024

January 19th, 2024 - Tres Floral Sides of One


Buenos dias and cheers my friends!  Happy Friday!  The Meister here today pairing the kick-ass "Three Sides Of One" from the legendary hard rock trio King's X and a crisp and tasty Tres Flores Red Cerveza from the fine folks at the Ogden Beer Company!  Hell yeah!

Album Info:

  • Artist: King's X
  • Title: "Three Sides Of One"
  • Recorded: 2019 through 2022 at Alien Beans Studio in Kansas City, Missouri, Blacksound in Pasadena, California, and Naked Girl Sound
  • Release date: September 2, 2022 (13th studio album by King's X)
  • Record company: Inside Out Music / Sony Music
  • Album cover art: Thomas Ewerhard 
  • Production: Michael Parnin
  • Personnel: Jerry Gaskill (drums, percussion, and vocals), Doug Pinnick (bass, 12-string bass, piano, electric piano, organ, and vocals), and Ty Tabor (electric guitars, 12-string and 6-string acoustic guitars, baritone guitar, and vocals)
  • Guest musicians: Wally Farkas (backing vocals and additional percussion), Vanessa Freebairn-Smith (cello), Michael Parnin (additional percussion), and Jenny Takamatsu (violin) 
  • Musical style: Hard rock, progressive rock and metal with elements of pop rock, soul, R&B, and folk rock
  • Sound: Heavy, funky, melodic, and powerful as hell, the sound on "Three Sides Of One" is another crowning achievement from the King's X boys!  There is a deep groove that permeates throughout every track.  Pinnick's vocals and bass work are (as always) powerfully emotional and soulful!  Tabor's guitar work soars, shreds, and moves!  And Gaskill's drum work is some of the most solid in the industry... a badass in his own right!  Of the album, Pinnick stated: "Every song is completely different than the other — mixed and sonically; everything. We took every song and tried to do like THE BEATLES 'White' album and just sit down with a song and go, 'Let's give it what it needs.' I don't have to have my Doug Pinnick gravelly tone if I need a Paul McCartney-type sound. Ty [Tabor], he would fix his guitars to make… 'This is like a whatever song. Let's make it what it is but still be KING'S X.' So I think that it sounds like KING'S X but hopefully everyone will feel that we took another step forward."
  • Major themes: Life, music, joy, celebration, truth, etc.
  • Tracks:  
  1. "Let It Rain"
  2. "Flood Pt. 1"
  3. "Nothing But The Truth"
  4. "Give It Up"
  5. "All God's Children"
  6. "Take The Time"
  7. "Festival"
  8. "Swipe Up"
  9. "Holidays"
  10. "Watcher"
  11. "She Called Me Home"
  12. "Every Everywhere"

Brew Info:

  • Brewery: Ogden Beer Company (Ogden, Utah)
  • Website:
  • Brew: Tres Flores Red Cerveza
  • Style: Red Mexican Lager
  • Serving: 64 ounce growler bottle
  • ABV: 5.0%
  • Pour: The Tres Flores pours a clear copper-amber hue with a billowy, off-white, 1-finger head with great retention and lots of sticky, intricate lacing.
  • Nose: The nose is a characterized by bready, grainy, floral, and malty aromas.  There are aromas of cracked wheat, light cereal grains, corn meal, a hint of lemon zest, a hint of apple, and a hint of honey.
  • Taste: Very well-balanced, the Tres Flores has a nice blend of grainy, bready, herbal, and malty flavors.  There are notes of crackery biscuit, light corn, doughy bread, light herbs, light lemon and lime zest, and a hint of honey.
  • Mouthfeel: Light to medium in body and well-carbonated, the mouthfeel is very smooth with a crisp and refreshing profile.  The finish is dry and very clean. 

Overall pairing: The Ogden Beer Company Tres Flores is a great brew to pair with "Three Sides Of One" for the simple fact that it goes down easy, but is full-flavored, complex, crisp, and has a crushable character ... a great beer to pound whilst pumping your fists to the might and power that is the mighty King's X and their killer "Three Sides Of One" album!!

Cheers!!  Keep on rockin'!!

No comments:

Post a Comment