Friday, October 9, 2015

October 9th, 2015 - Who's Next? The Golden Pelican... That's Who!

I'm going big tonight my friends... and I mean freakin' HUGE!  The Meista here tonight pairing "Who's Next" (2003 Deluxe Edition) and a Golden Pelican from Pelican Brewing Company!!  This pairing goes out to my brother, Dain-o and all my friends at the Barrelhouse (!!  Cheers buddies!!

Album Info:
  • Artist: The Who
  • Title: "Who's Next" (2003 Deluxe Edition
  • Recorded: April through June 1971 at Olympic Studios, Barnes, London ("Won't Get Fooled Again" was recorded at Stargroves, Rolling Stones Mobile Studio)
    Release date: August 14th, 1971... 7 days before the birth of yours truly!  Coincidence... I don't think so!  ;)  (5th studio album by The Who)
  • Record company: Decca
  • Production: The Who and Glyn Johns
  • Album cover art:  Ethan Russell (photography) and John Kosh (design)
  • Personnel: Roger Daltrey (vocals), Keith Moon (drums and percussion), John Entwistle (bass, brass, vocals, and piano on "My Wife"), and Pete Townshend (guitar, VCS3, organ, A.R.P. synthesizer, vocals, and piano on "Baba O'Riley")
  • Musical style: Hard rock with elements of blues, R&B, folk rock, and progressive rock
  • Sound: Geez, what the hell do you say about the revolutionary, richly textured, and mind-blowing sound of The Who?!  I don't even know where to start!  All I can really say is this is one of my all-time favorite and most awe-inspiring albums... period!!
  • Major themes: Life, love, loss, music, traveling, etc.
  • Tracks: 
Disc 1:
  1. "Baba O'Riley")
  2. "Bargain"
  3. "Love Ain't For Keeping"
  4. "My Wife"
  5. "The Song Is Over"
  6. "Getting In Tune"
  7. "Going Mobile"
  8. "Behind Blue Eyes"
  9. "Won't Get Fooled Again"
  10. "Baby Don't You Do It" (Long Version)
  11. "Getting In Tune"
  12. "Pure And Easy" (Alternate Version)
  13. "Love Ain't For Keeping" (Electric Version with Townsend on vocals)
  14. "Behind Blue Eyes" (Alternate Version)
  15. "Won't Get Fooled Again" (Original New York Sessions Version)
Disc 2:
  1. "Love Ain't For Keeping" (Live)
  2. "Pure And Easy" (Live)
  3. "Young Man Blues" (Live)
  4. "Time Is Passing" (Live)
  5. "Behind Blue Eyes" (Live)
  6. "I Don't Even Know Myself" (Live)
  7. "Too Much Of Anything" (Live)
  8. "Getting In Tune" (Live)
  9. "Bargain" (Live)
  10. "Water" (Live)
  11. "My Generation" (Live)
  12. "Road Runner" (Live)
  13. "Naked Eye" (Live)
  14. "Won't Get Fooled Again" (Live)

Brew Info:
  • Brewery: Pelican Brewing Company (Pacific City, Oregon)
  • Website:
  • Brew: Golden Pelican
  • Style: Belgian Strong Pale Ale
  • Serving: 22 ounce bottle
  • ABV:  8.5%
  • IBUs: 45
  • Ingredients: Rye malt, Pale Ale malt, Aramis hops, Magnum hops, Sugar, Pure water, and "Farmhouse" yeast
  • Pour: Bright golden-yellow with a billowy and firm snowcap white head that shows great retention and intricate lacing.
  • Nose: The nose is characterized by herbal and "yeast-driven fruity/spicy aromas".  There are notes of  white wine, Belgian yeast, exotic spices, soft banana, lemon, and light grains.
  • Taste: The taste of the Golden Pelican is tart, funky, intricate, and complex.  There are notes of Chardonnay, sweet pear, white grapes, lemon zest, bitter herbs and hops, hints of banana, and toasted malts.
  • Mouthfeel: Light-bodied and well carbonated, the mouthfeel is frothy, crisp, sharp, and refreshing with a dry, slightly bitter finish.
Overall pairing: The massive sound of "Who's Next" (one of the greatest albums ever recorded in my humble opinion) deserves a brew that is both big and bold, and complex and sweet!  I think the Golden Pelican from Pelican Brewing Company is a perfect brew to spend some time really, really listening to The Who!  It is a beer that is familiar, but surprising with lots of twists and turns... just like the brilliance of "Who's Next"!!


No comments:

Post a Comment