Wednesday, December 30, 2015

December 30th, 2015 - We Are Motörhead, We Are Pinedrops Drinkers!

Good afternoon head-bangers and brew-lovers!  The Meista here with a special pairing dedicated to all the fans of Motörhead during a very rough week.  I know the loss of Lemmy is weighing heavy for me so today I'm pairing Motörhead's "We Are Motörhead" with a Pinedrops IPA from Deschutes Brewing Company!  To Lemmy!!

Album Info:
  • Artist: Motörhead
  • Title: "We Are Motörhead"
  • Recorded: June 1999 through August 1999 at Karo Studios, Brackel, Germany and December 1999 through March 2000 at American Recorders, Calabasas, California
  • Release date: May 16th, 2000 (15th studio album by Motörhead
  • Record company: CMC, Steamhammer, SPV GmbH
  • Production: Motörhead, Bob Kulick, Bruce Bouillet, and  Duane Baron
  • Album cover art: Joe Petagno
  • Personnel: Phil "Wizzö" Campbell (rhythm and lead guitar), Mikkey Dee (drums), and Ian Fraser "Lemmy" Kilmister (lead vocals and bass)
  • Musical style: Hard rock, heavy metal, speed metal, punk
  • Sound: Loud, fast, heavy, and honest, the sound on "We Are Motörhead" is that classic Motörhead powerhouse with Lemmy's distinct vocals heading the charge!
  • Major themes: Survival, self-reliance, rock and roll, hard living, honesty, etc.
  • Note: Of the album cover, artist Petagno stated: "It's one of my favourite pieces. At that time, there was a lot of death metal and black metal going on. I was working with a lot of those people anyway. They were all totally Motörhead dedicated, and grew up with Motörhead. I said, "Listen, instead of letting these guys sort of get to you, why don't we just pay homage to the death thing? That's cool enough. You guys were the first to do it anyway". In the original sketch, the head was turned three-quarter view, but Lemmy said we'd never used the head since "Deaf Forever" from the side. So why don't we just give it a full profile?"
  • Tracks:  
  1. "See Me Burning"
  2. "Slow Dance"
  3. "Stay Out Of Jail"
  4. "God Save The Queen" (Sex Pistols cover)
  5. "Out To Lunch"
  6. "Wake The Dead"
  7. "One More Fucking Time"
  8. "Stagefright/Crash & Burn"
  9. "(Wearing Your) Heart On Your Sleeve"
  10. "We Are Motörhead"
Brew Info:
  • Brewery: Deschutes Brewing Company (Bend, Oregon)
  • Website:
  • Brew: Pinedrops IPA
  • Style: American India Pale Ale (IPA)
  • Serving: 12 ounce bottle
  • ABV: 6.5%
  • IBUs: 70
  • Ingredients: Pilsner, Pale, Munich, Crystal, and Carapils malts and Nugget, Northern Brewer, Chinook, Centennial, and Equinox hops
  • Pour: It pours a very hazy golden amber with a billowy white 2-finger head that leaves generous and well-sustained lacing.
  • Nose: The nose is like walking through a pine forest with fresh baked bread and a bushel of grapefruit.  There are aromas of pine resin, spruce, cedar, lemon zest, grapefruit, caramel, and toasted grains.
  • Taste: The taste of the Pinedrops is very dank, earthy, and hop forward with a solid malt backbone and more subtle citrus flavors.  Big flavors of pine and spruce abound! 
  • Mouthfeel: Medium-bodied and well carbonated, the mouthfeel is with a crisp, dry finish with lingering bitterness.
Overall pairing: The crisp, easy-drinking, yet very punchy Pinedrops IPA from Deschutes Brewing Company is great for the fast-paced, heavy duty, in-your-face hard rock power that is "We Are Motörhead"!  So crank up some Motörhead and raise a pint or two to Lemmy tonight...  because we are all fuckin' Motörhead after all!!

Cheers and hails to Lemmy!!!  RIP

No comments:

Post a Comment