Saturday, September 22, 2018

September 22nd, 2018 - My Pineapple Kush Addiction

Hey there rockers, rollers, and hop lovers!  The Meista here today getting funky with a pairing of the brilliant "Addiction" by the legendary Glenn Hughes and a Pineapple Kush from Cascade Lakes Brewing Company!  Oh yeah!!

Album Info:
  • Artist: Glenn Hughes
  • Title: "Addiction" 2017 Remastered & Expanded Edition
  • Recorded: 1996 at Entourage Studios
  • Release date: June 10th, 1996 (5th solo studio album by Glenn Hughes); Remastered & Expanded Edition released July 7th, 2017
  • Record company: Shrapnel Records
  • Production: Glenn Hughes, Marc Bonilla, and Michael Scott
  • Album cover art: Jack Pedota (photography) 
  • Personnel: Glenn Hughes (vocals and bass guitars) with Marc Bonilla (guitars and keyboards), Joakim "J.J." Marsh (guitars), and Joe Travers (drums)
  • Additional musicians: Morgan Ågren (drums), Sampo Axelsson (bass), and Lasse Pollack (keyboards)
  • Musical style: Hard rock, heavy metal, funk rock, heavy blues rock
  • Sound: Darker and heavier that his previous solo albums, with "Addiction", Hughes lays down a very heavy and aggressive sonic punch!  His bass work and vocals are emotional, honest, and driven... some of his best work ever in my humble opinion.... a truly brilliant album!
  • Major themes: Darker in tone, themes and subject matter on "Addiction" include drug abuse, truth, pain, sorrow, anger, regret, honesty, love, hope, etc.
  • Tracks:   
Disc 1:
  1. "Death Of Me"
  2. "Down" 
  3. "Addiction"
  4. "Madelaine"
  5. "Talk About It"
  6. "I'm Not Your Slave"
  7. "Cover Me"
  8. "Blue Jade"
  9. "Justified Man"
  10. "I Don't Want To Live That Way Again"
  11. "Way Back To The Bone" (live bonus track)
  12. "Touch My Life" (live bonus track)
  13. "You Fool No One" (live bonus track)
Disc 2 (Live In Holland):
  1. "Stormbringer"
  2. "The Liar"
  3. "You Fool No One"
  4. "Muscle & Blood"
  5. "Push"
  6. "This Time Around"
  7. "Coast To Coast"
  8. "You're The Music"
  9. "Your Love Is Alright"
  10. "Gettin' Tighter"
  11. "Vocal Intro"
  12. "You Keep On Moving"
  13. "Burn"

Brew Info:
  • Brewery: Cascade Lakes Brewing Company (Redmond, Oregon)
  • Website:
  • Brew: Pineapple Kush
  • Style: American India Pale Ale (IPA)
  • Serving: 12 ounce can
  • ABV: 7.1%
  • IBUs: 37
  • Ingredients: 2 Row, Crystal, and Dextrose malts with Centennial, Idaho 7, and Mosiac hops, and pineapple
  • Pour: The Pineapple Kush pours a very murky dark amber hue with an off-white, 1-finger head that dissipates to the thin ring.
  • Nose: The nose is very fruity, sweet, malty, and hoppy.  There are huge aromas of pineapple and mango along with more subtle notes of sweet caramel, but the pineapple is the dominate scent. 
  • Taste: The taste of the Pineapple Kush is very fruity, hoppy, malty, and sweet.  There are big notes of pineapple, mango, apricot, peach, grapefruit, Hawaiian sweet rolls, sweet caramel, and a hint of booze, but pineapple is the dominate flavor. 
  • Mouthfeel: Medium-bodied and well-carbonation, the mouthfeel is very crisp, sweet, slightly tart, and sticky with a somewhat dry, slightly bitter, and sweet finish.
Overall pairing: The Pineapple Kush from Cascade Lakes Brewing is a sweet, fruity, and flavorful brew... the perfect foil for the heaviness, honesty, darkness, and musical prowess of the amazing Glenn Hughes!
Cheers!!  Rock on!!

No comments:

Post a Comment