Friday, December 14, 2018

December 14th, 2018 - Galactic Juice Live On Earth!

Hello and happy Friday hop heads and space travelers!  The Meista here today pairing the brilliant "Live On Earth", a live album by Arjen A. Lucassen's Star One and a Galactic Juice from the Fisher Brewing Company!

Album Info:
  • Artist: Arjen A. Lucassen's Star One
  • Title: "Live On Earth"
  • Recorded: October 5, 2002 live at Lucky & Co in Rijssen, Netherlands
  • Release date: April 29th, 2003 (1st and only live album by Star One... thus far)
  • Record company: Inside Out Music
  • Production: Arjen Anthony Lucassen
  • Album cover art: Mattias Norén and Vincent Difate
  • Personnel: Russell Allen (vocals), Floor Jansen (vocals), Arjen Anthony Lucassen (guitars, synthesizer, and vocals), Robert Soeterboek (vocals), Joost van den Broek (keyboards), Peter Vink (bass), Ed Warby (drums), and Damian Wilson (vocals)
  • Additional musicians: Ewa Albering (flute), Irene Jansen (backing vocals), and Edward Reekers (vocals)
  • Musical style: Progressive metal, progressive rock, space metal, heavy metal
  • Sound: Complex, inventive, imaginative, and totally rocking,"Live On Earth" is an amazing live performance that captures not only the brilliance of Lucassen's songwriting, but the vigor and intensity of these performers!
  • Major themes: With songs from the first Star One album and various songs from the Ayreon catalog, the songs on "Live On Earth" deal with science fiction and fantasy concepts taken from movies, television, books, and Lucassen's own brilliant mind.  Themes include space travel, life and death, mythology, gods, aliens, violence, fear, adventure, survival, etc.
  • Tracks:   
  1. "Lift Off"
  2. "Set Your Controls"
  3. "High Moon"
  4. "Dreamtime"
  5. "Eyes Of Time"
  6. "Songs Of The Ocean"
  7. "Dawn Of A Million Souls"
  8. "The Dream Sequencer"
  9. "Into The Black Hole"
  10. "Actual Fantasy"
  11. "Valley Of The Queens"
  12. "Isis And Osiris"
  13. "Amazing Flight In Space"
  14. "Intergalactic Space Crusaders"
  15. "Castle Hall"
  16. "The Eye Of Ra"
  17. "Starchild"
  18. "The Two Gates"

Brew Info:
  • Brewery: Fisher Brewing Company (Salt Lake City, Utah)
  • Website:
  • Brew: Galactic Juice
  • Style: American Pale Ale (APA)
  • Serving: 32 ounce "crowler" can
  • ABV: 4.0%      
  • Ingredients: Galaxy hops          
  • Pour: The Galactic Juice pours a hazy golden-caramel hue with an off-white, frothy, and firm 2+ finger head with great retention and intricate lacing.
  • Nose: The nose is a wonderfully aromatic blend of citrus and tropical fruit with more subtle floral and grassy characteristics.  There are big aromas of grapefruit rind and juice, orange zest, tangerine, mango, peach, passionfruit, pine resin, crackery grain, and light caramel.
  • Taste: The taste of the Galactic Juice follows the nose with lots of tasty citrusy and tropical fruit hop flavor along with floral and grassy notes.  There are notes of grapefruit juice, tangerine, mango, passionfruit, peach, apricot, floral hops, pine, summer grass, and light caramel.
  • Mouthfeel: Medium-bodied and well carbonated, the mouthfeel of the Galactic Juice is very crisp, refreshing, slightly bitter, yet smooth with a dry, clean finish.
  • Notes: "Originally founded in Salt Lake City in 1884, Fisher Brewing Company has returned as an employee owned, community-focused craft brewery. Located in the Granary District of Salt Lake City, we serve fine ales and lagers in our brewery taproom."

Overall pairing: The delicious, bright, and invitingly punchy aromas and flavors of the Fisher Galactic Juice are perfect for the complex, yet heavy-duty rockin' metal of Arjen A. Lucassen's Star One "Live On Earth" album!  Those bright, juicy flavors go so very well with soaring guitars and soaring vocal performances... and make for a far better space travelling companion thang Tang!

Cheers!!  Gezondheid!!

No comments:

Post a Comment