Sunday, April 14, 2019

April 14th, 2019 - Whether Your Dealing With Matters Of The Heart Or Matters Of Science, You'll Probably End Up Covered In Blood

Hello!  Your pal the Meista here today rocking the hell out to Arch Enemy's "Covered In Blood", a compilation cover album and a very tasty Heart And Science IPA from Ninkasi Brewing Company!

Album Info:
  • Artist: Arch Enemy
  • Title: "Covered In Blood"
  • Recorded: 1996 through 2018 at various studios                 
  • Release date: January 18th, 2019 (3rd compilation album by Arch Enemy)
  • Record company: Century Media Records
  • Production: Arch Enemy, various
  • Album cover art: Costin Chioreanu
  • Personnel: Christopher Amott (guitars tracks 12-24), Michael Amott (guitars, bass, and backing vocals), Nick Cordle (guitars tracks 3-6), Sharlee D'Angelo (bass), Daniel Erlandsson (drums), Angela Gossow (lead vocals on tracks 12-20 and 23), Johan Liiva (lead vocals tracks 14 and 21-24), Jeff Loomis (guitars and backing vocals tracks 1 and 2), and Alissa White-Gluz (lead vocals tracks 1-11)
  • Musical style: Melodic death metal, heavy metal, hard core punk, thrash metal
  • Sound: Fast, aggressive, unapologetic, the sound on "Covered In Blood" is signature Arch Enemy, but Arch Enemy covering some of their favorite songs over the years!   
  • Major themes: Anger, aggression, rebellion, society, war, death, power, etc.
  • Tracks:  
  1. "Shout" (Tears For Fears cover)
  2. "Back To Back" (Pretty Maids cover)
  3. "Shadow On The Wall" (Mike Oldfield cover)
  4. "Breaking The Law" (Judas Priest cover)
  5. "Nitad" (Moderat Likvidation cover)
  6. "When The Innocent Die" (Anti Cimex cover)
  7. "Warsystem" (Shitlickers cover)
  8. "Armed Revolution" (Shitlickers cover)
  9. "Spräckta Snutskallar" (Shitlickers cover)
  10. "The Leader (Of The Fuckin' Assholes)" (Shitlickers cover)
  11. "City Baby Attacked By Rats" (GBH cover)
  12. "Warning" (Discharge cover)
  13. " The Zoo" (Scorpions cover)
  14. "Wings Of Tomorow" (Europe cover)
  15. "The Oath" (Kiss cover)
  16. "The Book Of Heavy Metal" (Evil Dreams cover)
  17. "Walk In The Shadows" (Queensrÿche cover)
  18. "Incarnated Solvent Abuse" (Carcass cover)
  19. "Kill With Power" (Manowar cover)
  20. "Symphony Of Destruction" (Megadeth cover)
  21. " Aces High" (Iron Maiden cover)
  22. "Scream Of Anger" (Europe cover)
  23. "Starbreaker" (Judas Priest cover)
  24. "The Ides Of March" (Iron Maiden cover)

Brew Info:
  • Brewery: Ninkasi Brewing Company
  • Website:
  • Brew: Heart And Science IPA
  • Style: American India Pale Ale (IPA)
  • Serving: 12 ounce bottle
  • ABV: 6.8%
  • IBUs: 48
  • Ingredients: 2-Row, Pale, Vienna, Acidulated, and Flaked Barley malts along with Nugget, Mosaic, El Dorado, Simcoe, Citra, Calypso, and Amarillo hops
  • Pour: The Heart And Science IPA pours a clear golden-amber with a 1-finger, billowy, bright white head with good sustain and soapy lacing.
  • Nose: The nose combines dank floral aromas with malty sweetness and citrusy hop scents.  There are aromas of grapefruit rind, tangerine, pineapple, pine resin, bread crust, and soft caramel.
  • Taste: Following the nose, the taste of the Heart And Science IPA is a fruity, citrusy, floral, herbal, and bready.  There are notes of grapefruit juice, lemon, orange, papaya, peach, melon, and more subtle caramel.
  • Mouthfeel: Medium in body with good carbonation, the mouthfeel is with a crisp, juicy, withm minimal bitterness and a clean, slightly dry finish.
  • Notes: "Heart and Science is brewed as tribute to the technical arts and heartfelt dedication that brewers, farmers, suppliers, and fans bring to the independent craft beer industry."

Overall pairing: The Heart And Science IPA from Ninkasi Brewing Company is a very well balanced, drinkable, very crisp ale that goes down easy, but with a solid flavor... perfect for the fast-paced metal insanity of Arch Enemy's "Covered In Blood"!  Those bitter and grassy hops are prefect for the angry vocals and lyrics while the crisp and citrusy notes go well with the song structures and amazing guitar delivery!

Prost!!  Hails!!

No comments:

Post a Comment