Friday, August 7, 2020

August 7th, 2020 - A Little OG Juice In The Kult Des Hasses


Good evening and happy Friday metal maniacs and craft beer fanatics!  Your drinking buddy the Meista here tonight pairing "Kult Des Hasses" by Acheron and a deliciously juicy OG Juice IPA Release #2, the latest beer from UTOG Brewing Company!  Hell yes!! 

Album Info:
  • Artist: Acheron
  • Title: "Kult Des Hasses"
  • Recorded: 2013 at Bad Back Studios in Cleveland, Ohio
  • Release date: February 24th, 2014 (9th studio album by Acheron)
  • Record company: Listenable Records 
  • Production: Acheron 
  • Album cover art: Timo Wuerz 
  • Personnel: Vincent Crowley (bass and vocals), Kyle Severn (drums), and Art Taylor (guitars)
  • Additional musicians: Kam Lee (additional vocals), Jim Lippucci (additional vocals), Jill McEntee (additional vocals), John McEntee (additional vocals), Zdenka Prado (additional vocals), Ricktor Ravensbrück (lead guitars), and Ash Thomas (additional vocals)
  • Musical style: Death metal/black metal 
  • Sound: Blending elements of melodic death metal with black metal and a touch of traditional/power metal, Acheron's sound is a wonderfully powerful metal punch!  Along with the killer fret work, what really stands out on this album for me is the insane drumming by Kyle Severn of Incantation fame!  
  • Major themes: The occult, evil, death, darkness, sex, lust, Satanism, Anti-Christianity/religion, blasphemy, etc.
  • Notes: The band's name is taken from the mythological Greek river in the underground kingdom of the dead, Hades.
  • Tracks:   
  1. "Daemonum Lux"
  2. "Satan Holds Dominion"
  3. "Raptured To Divine Perversion"
  4. "Jesus Wept... Again And Again"
  5. "Thy Father Suicide"
  6. "Misanthropic Race"
  7. "Whores And Harlots"
  8. "Asphyxiation (Hands Of God)"
  9. "Concubina Do Diabo"
  10. "Devil's Black Blood"

Brew Info:
  • Brewery: UTOG Brewing Company (Ogden, Utah)
  • Brew: OG Juice IPA Release #2
  • Style: American India Pale Ale (IPA)
  • Serving: 16 ounce can
  • ABV: 7.3%
  • Ingredients: Citra, Idaho 7, and Simcoe hops
  • Pour: The OG Juice pours a slightly hazy golden yellow with a billowy and foamy bright white, 1-finger head with good sustain and sticky, soapy lacing.
  • Nose: The nose very citrusy, very tropical, hoppy, malty, and sweet.  There are big aromas of stone fruit (peach along with fresh and dried apricot) upfront along with freshly cut pineapple, grapefruit rind, mango, orange marmalade, orange zest, a very subtle hint of pine resin, and a hint of caramel.
  • Taste: The taste follows the nose with lots of citrusy, fruity, grainy, slightly sweet, and herbal characteristics.  There are notes of orange juice, orange pith, and orange zest, tangerine, pink grapefruit juice, pineapple, apricot, peach, mango, herbal tea, light pine, toffee/caramel, white pepper, and an ever so slight hint of booze (more so as it warms).
  • Mouthfeel: Medium to full-bodied with moderate carbonation, the mouthfeel is very crisp, juicy, and a bit spicy with a dry, peppery finish. 

Overall Pairing: The hop-forward, citrusy punch of UTOG's OG Juice IPA Release #2 is perfect for the aggressive, fast-paced grooves, fiery riffs, and killer hooks of  kick-ass album!  The more bitter flavors (grapefruit rind, pine, tea, etc.) are great for the lyrics and Crowley's broken glass and gravel vocals while the brighter flavors go great with the machine gun fire guitar attack of Ravensbrück and Taylor!  And the bolder malt notes are prefect for the thunderous drumming onslaught of the mighty Severn!

Cheers and hails!!

No comments:

Post a Comment