Saturday, January 16, 2021

January 16th, 2021 - Power Play Up!


Hello and happy Saturday rockers, roller, and craft beer fanatics!  Your drinking buddy the Meista here today rocking the hell out with one of my all-time favorite bands and a tasty beer from one of my favorite local breweries... a pairing of the kick-ass "Power Up," the latest album by legendary rockers AC/DC and a deliciously crisp Power Play Pilsner from my friends at UTOG Brewing Company!  Hell yes!! 

Album Info:
  • Artist: AC/DC
  • Title: "Power Up" (aka "PWR/UP")
  • Recorded: August and September 2018 and early 2019 at The Warehouse in Vancouver, Canada
  • Release date: November 13th, 2020 (17th full-length studio album by AC/DC)
  • Record company: Columbia Records  
  • Production: Brendan O'Brien
  • Album cover art: John Cheuse (art direction and design), Michelle Holme (art direction and design) , and Ben IB (cover art)
  • Personnel: Brian Johnson (lead vocals), Phil Rudd (drums), Cliff Williams (bass guitar and backing vocals), Angus Young (lead guitar), and Steve Young (rhythm guitar and backing vocals)
  • Musical style: Hard rock, heavy blues rock, rock and roll 
  • Sound: With all the energy, killer riffs, powerhouse chords, and ferocity that you would expect from an AC/DC album, "Power Up" definitely delivers!  This is high-octane, turbocharged, well-produced, yet punchy as hell heavy blues rock at its finest!  Without being nostalgic, the band captures that same energy they had 40 years ago.  Angus is at the top of his game and it is so great to hear Johnson singing again! 
  • Major themes: life, the passage of time, rock and roll, the blues, desire, power, etc.
  • Notes: Of the album, Angus stated: "This record is pretty much a dedication to Malcolm, my brother. It's a tribute for him like Back In Black was a tribute to Bon Scott."
  • Tracks:   
  1. "Realize"
  2. "Rejection"
  3. "Shot In The Dark"
  4. "Through The Mists Of Time"
  5. "Kick You When You're Down"
  6. "Witch's Spell"
  7. "Demon Fire"
  8. "Wild Reputation"
  9. "No Man's Land"
  10. "Systems Down"
  11. "Money Shot"
  12. "Code Red"

Brew Info:
  • Brewery: UTOG Brewing Company (Ogden, Utah)
  • Brew: Power Play Pilsner
  • Style: Pilsner)
  • Serving: 12 ounce can
  • ABV: 5.0%
  • IBUs: 33
  • Pour: The Power Play Pilsner pours clear, Bright golden-yellow with lot of tiny effervescent bubbles and a firm, foamy, bright white, 1-finger head with good retention and soapy lacing.
  • Nose: The nose is grainy, grassy, and slightly fruity.  There are aromas of doughy bread, freshly cut hay, June grass, crackery biscuit, a touch of lemon zest, and a hint of ripe apple.
  • Taste: The taste is characterized by bright, crackery, grassy flavors.  There are notes of crackery biscuit, cracked wheat, lemon zest, grassy hops, light apple, and a zesty white pepper finish.
  • Mouthfeel: Light to medium in body and well-carbonated, the mouthfeel is very crisp and smooth with very low bitterness and a clean, dry finish. 

Overall Pairing: The incredibly crushable UTOG Power Play Pilsner is the perfect brew to throw back whilst raising horns and head banging to one of the greats and their killer new album "Power Play"!  I highly recommend both the album and the beer!

Cheers and hails!!  Make it loud and make it craft!

No comments:

Post a Comment