Thursday, January 21, 2021

January 21st, 2021 - A Little Night Music For Marie Hausbrendel

Guten abend evil-doers!  Let's all do some heavy duty headbangin' with Venom's classic live album, "Eine Kleine Nachtmusikand a crisp and refreshing Marie Hausbrendel Hell from Schwarzbräu GmbH!  Hells yeah!

Album Info: 

  • Artist: Venom
  • Title: "Eine Kleine Nachtmusik"
  • Recorded: October 8th, 1985 at Hammersmith Odeon in London, England and April 4th and 5th, 1986 at The Ritz in New York City, New York 
  • Release date: December 1986 (2nd live album released by Venom)
  • Record company: Neat Records 
  • Production: Keith Nichol, Cronos, and Venom
  • Album cover art: Abaddon (art design and layout), Fin Costello (photography), Pete Cronin (photography), Tony Mottran (photography), and Tony Gray (artwork and layout)
  • Personnel: Anthony "Abaddon" Bray (drums), Jeff "Mantas" Dunn (guitars), and Conrad "Cronos" Lant (bass and vocals) 
  • Musical style: Thrash metal, speed metal, black metal
  • Sound: This is it... the ultimate, classic live Venom album!  Fast, furious, raw, and aggressive, the tracks convey the pure, classic, unadulterated sound of the original Venom lineup!  Although all the elements are fantastic, for me the strength of the album lies squarely with the incredibly powerful guitar work of Mantas!  It is a sheer joy to behold!
  • Major themes: Death, violence, the occult, Satan, Hell, evil, darkness, horror, heavy metal, etc.
  • Tracks: 
  1. "Intro"
  2. "Too Loud (For The Crowd)"
  3. "7 Gates Of Hell"
  4. "Leave Me In Hell"
  5. "Nightmare"
  6. "Countess Bathory"
  7. "Die Hard"
  8. "Schizo"
  9. "Guitar Solo Mantas"
  10. "In Nomine Satanas"
  11. "Witching Hour"
  12. "Black Metal"
  13. "The Chanting Of The Priests"
  14. "Satanachist"
  15. Flytrap"
  16. "Warhead"
  17. "Buried Alive"
  18. "Love Amongst The Dead"
  19. "Bass Solo Cronos"
  20. "Welcome To Hell"
  21. 'Bloodlust"

Brew Info:

  • Brewery: Schwarzbräu GmbH (Zusmarshausen, Germany)
  • Website: 
  • Brew: Marie Hausbrendel Hell 
  • Style: Helles / Bavarian Lager
  • Serving: 16 ounce can
  • ABV: 4.8%
  • Pour: The Marie Hausbrendel Hell pours a clear, bright, golden-yellow with lots of effervescent bubbles and a bright white, half-finger, frothy head that dissipates into a nice ring with light lacing.
  • Nose: The nose is nice blend of fruity, floral, lightly hoppy, and bready aromas.  There are aromas of freshly baked wheat bread, wild flowers, pear, apple, summer grass, a hint of lemon zest, and a hint of honey.
  • Taste: Lots of nice flavors going on here.  Like the nose, there are notes of bready dough, grassy hops, apple juice, pear, a hint of banana, light lemon zest, and a touch of honey. 
  • Mouthfeel: Light-bodied and well-carbonated, the mouthfeel is crisp, refreshing, and slightly sweet with very low bitterness and a clean, dry finish.

Overall pairing: I think the Schwarzbräu Marie Hausbrendel Hell is the perfect brew to throw back while listening to the bold and aggressive heavy metal beast that is Venom's "Eine Kleine Nachtmusik"!  Those light, bready, and fruity flavors make for a great foil to the darker lyrical subject matter and the intense wails Cronos, while the very crisp body is great for the fiery guitar licks of Mantas!


No comments:

Post a Comment