Tuesday, February 9, 2021

February 9th, 2021 - Ballot Result: The Tannen Hell Wins!


Guten abend my beer drinking rock and roll friends!  The Meista here tonight pairing the Minutemen's classic posthumously released live album, "Ballot Resultand a crisp and refreshing Tannen Hell from Hohenthanner Schlossbrauerei! 

Album Info: 

  • Artist: Minutemen
  • Title: "Ballot Result"
  • Recorded: September 1980 through November 30th, 1985 at various locations
  • Release date: 1987 (live compilation album by the Minutemen)
  • Record company: SST 
  • Production: Mike Watt
  • Album cover art: Howard Rosenberg (photography)
  • Personnel: D. Boon (guitars and lead vocals), George Hurley (drums), and Mike Watt (bass and vocals)
  • Additional musicians: Crane (trumpet and backing vocals on "The Cheerleaders" and "Take Our Test") and Kira (bass on "Tour-Spiel")
  • Musical style: punk rock, post punk, alternative rock 
  • Sound: Combining California hardcore punk with jazz, R&B, classic rock, and avant blues, the Minutemen's sound was wonderfully unique and experimental.  Their music is both compelling and joyous!  Although not as well-known as they should have been, their legacy and influence is profound and enduring!
  • Major themes: Whimsical and lighthearted, yet also socio-politically driven and sometimes rather abstract, themes on the album include politics, social mores, the surreal, life, the frustrations and triumphs of the blue collar worker, protest, rebellion, etc.
  • Notes: The album is a compilation of live records put together by Watt and Hurley.  Many of the tracks were submitted by fans and friends of the band.
  • Tracks: 
  1. "Little Man With A Gun In His Hand"
  2. "Political Song For Michael Jackson To Sing"
  3. "I Felt Like A Gringo"
  4. "Jesus And Tequila"
  5. "Courage"
  6. "King Of The Hill"
  7. "Bermuda"
  8. "No One"
  9. "Mr. Robot's Holy Orders"
  10. "The Price Of Paradise"
  11. "Song For El Salvador"
  12. "Ack Ack Ack"
  13. "History Lesson Part II"
  14. "Hey Lawdy Mama"
  15. "This Ain't No Picnic"
  16. "The Cheerleaders"
  17. "Time"
  18. "Cut"
  19. "Split Red"
  20. "Dreams Are Free, Motherfucker!"
  21. "Shit You Hear At Parties"
  22. "Hell"
  23. "Tour-Spiel"
  24. "Take Our Test"
  25. "The Punch Line"
  26. "Search"
  27. "Bob Dylan Wrote Propaganda Songs"
  28. "Badges"
  29. "Tension"
  30. "If Reagan Played Disco"
  31. "No! No! No! To Draft And War / Joe McCarthy's Ghost"

Brew Info:

  • Brewery: Hohenthanner Schlossbrauerei (Hohenthann, Germany)
  • Website: https://www.hohenthanner.de/  
  • Brew: Tannen Hell 
  • Style: Helles / German Lager
  • Serving: 16 ounce can
  • ABV: 5.0%
  • Pour: The Tannen Hell pours a clear, bright, golden-yellow with lots of effervescent bubbles and a bright white, half-finger, frothy head that dissipates into a nice ring with light lacing.
  • Nose: The nose is nice blend of fruity, floral, lightly hoppy, and bready aromas.  There are aromas of freshly baked wheat bread, wild flowers, pear, apple, summer grass, a hint of lemon zest, and a hint of honey.
  • Taste: Lots of nice flavors going on here.  Like the nose, there are notes of bready dough, grassy hops, apple juice, pear, a hint of citrus, light lemon zest, and a touch of honey. 
  • Mouthfeel: Light-bodied and well-carbonated, the mouthfeel is crisp, refreshing, and slightly sweet with very low bitterness and a clean, dry finish.

Overall pairing: With it's crispness and light bready flavors, I think the Tannen Hell is the perfect brew to throw back while listening to the fast and whimsical punk stylings of the Minutemen!  Those light, bready, and fruity flavors make for a great companion to the unique and compelling song structures!  'Nuff said!


No comments:

Post a Comment