Monday, March 29, 2021

March 29th, 2021 - A Spring Session Visit From The Fruit Lady


"And now for something completely different..."  

Good evening!  Your drinking buddy the Meista here with another fun pairing for ya!  Although you all know me as a crazy metalhead, I also enjoy a wide variety of musical styles and genres.  Tonight I'm pairing a favorite non-metal album of mine, "Spring Session M", the debut by new wave rockers Missing Persons with a delicious and very fruity A Visit From the Fruit Lady: Raspberry Passion Fruit from Wiley Roots Brewing Company!  This pairing goes out to my buddy Mike Sargent... thanks for the beer my friend and it also goes out to the insanely talented Ms. Dale Bozzio... thanks for the record and the signed photos!!  Cheers!! 

Album Info:

  • Artist: Missing Persons 
  • Title: "Spring Session M"
  • Recorded: 1980 through 1982 at Chateau Recorders in Los Angeles, California
  • Release date: October 8th, 1982 (1st studio album by Missing Persons)
  • Record company: Capitol Records
  • Production: Ken Scott
  • Album cover art: Kurt Triffet (artwork and design) and Glen Wexler (photography, art direction, and design)
  • Personnel: Dale Bozzio (lead vocals), Terry Bozzio (drums, percussion, keyboards, synthesizers, and backing vocals), Warren Cuccurullo (guitars and backing vocals), Patrick O'Hearn (electric and synthesized bass, keyboards, and synthesizers), and Chuck Wild (synthesizers and keyboards)
  • Musical style: Synth-pop, new wave, pop rock, art rock
  • Sound: Combining the incredible talents of the Bozzios, Cuccurullo, O'Hearn (who all cut their teeth working with and touring with Frank Zappa) and Wild (an already fairly well-established composer/songwriter), Missing Persons' sound is a unique blend of early '80s synth-pop and provocative art rock.  Each musician brings a crucial element to the sound of the band... Dale's vocals are richly textured, sexy, and wildly amusing with her little high-pitched gasps, Terry's drumming is a blistering, progressive powerhouse of intricate signature changes and rhythms, Cuccurullo brings a tapestry of pop guitar sensibility and nuance, and the combined colorful keys work of Terry Bozzio, O'Hearn, and Wild really soars! 
  • Major themes: Life, isolation, frustration, disillusion, rebellion, sanity, etc.
  • Notes: The name of the album is an anagram of the band's name.
  • Tracks:   
  1. "Noticeable One"
  2. "Windows"
  3. "It Ain't None Of Your Business"
  4. "Destination Unknown"
  5. "Walking In L.A."
  6. "U.S. Drag"
  7. "Tears"
  8. "Here And Now"
  9. "Words"
  10. "Bad Streets"
  11. "Rock And Roll Suspension"
  12. "No Way Out"

Brew Info:

  • Brewery: Wiley Roots Brewing Company (Greeley, Colorado)
  • Website: 
  • Brew: A Visit From the Fruit Lady: Raspberry Passion Fruit 
  • Style: Smoothie style unpasteurized fruited sour ale
  • Serving: 16 ounce can
  • ABV: 4.2%
  • IBUs: 11
  • Ingredients: Fruited sour ale with puréed raspberry and passion fruit
  • Pour: A Visit From the Fruit Lady pours a very murky raspberry red hue with a frothy and creamy, pink, 1-finger head with great retention and lots of sudsy lacing.
  • Nose: The nose is very fruity, sweet, and slightly tart.  There are aromas of fresh raspberries, raspberry jam, passion fruit, lemon juice, plum, very light grains, and sweet cream.
  • Taste: The taste of  A Visit From the Fruit Lady follows the nose with fruity, tart, and sweet flavors.  There are big notes of fresh puréed raspberries, fresh puréed passion fruit, and .
  • Mouthfeel: Medium-bodied and fairly well-carbonated, the mouthfeel is thick, chunky, creamy, and slightly tart with a dry, slightly sweet finish.

Overall pairing: The A Visit From the Fruit Lady: Raspberry Passion Fruit from Wiley Roots is a uniquely sweet and moderately tart slushy brew... great for the unique and wonderfully artistic new wave rock stylings of Missing Persons!  'Nuff said!


No comments:

Post a Comment