Saturday, June 10, 2023

June 10th, 2023 - A Head Case From The Inside


Hello and happy Saturday rockers, rollers, trick 'r treaters, and craft brew lovers!  Your drinkin' buddy the Meista here rocking out today to "From The Inside" by the king of shock, Mr. Alice Cooper and a Head Case Hazy IPA from Mother Earth Brew Company!  Hell yeah!

Album Info:
  • Artist: Alice Cooper
  • Title: "From The Inside"
  • Recorded: 1978 at Davien Sound Studios, Cherokee Recording Studios, Hollywood Sound Recorders Inc., Kendun Recorders, and Studio 55
  • Release date: November 17th, 1978 (4th solo studio album by Alice Cooper)
  • Record company: Warner Bros.
  • Production: David Foster and Shep Gordon
  • Album cover art: Pacific Eye and Ear (concept and design), Alan Docker (photography), and Lauren Kinde (photography)
  • Personnel: Alice Cooper (lead vocals) 
  • Additional musician: Dennis Conway (drums), David Foster (keyboards), Jay Graydon (guitar), David Hungate (bass), Davey Johnstone (lead guitar and backing vocals), Jim Keltner (percussion), Robbie King (keyboards), Marcy Levy (co-lead vocals on "Millie And Billie"), Steve Lukather (guitar), Fred Mandel (keyboards), Dee Murray (bass), Rick Nielsen (guitar), John Pierce (bass), Michael Ricciardella (drums), Rick Shlosser (drums), Lee Sklar (bass), The Totally Committed Choir (backing vocals), and Dick Wagner (lead guitar)
  • Musical style: Hard rock, pop rock, gothic rock, glam rock
  • Sound: Wow... what do you say about this amazing and underrated album?  The album is a cohesive, wonderfully produced and executed musical journey!  Every song is a classic gem with lots of great hooks and riffs!
  • Major themes: A deeply personal concept album about Alice's stay in a New York asylum due to his alcoholism at the time, themes on the album include addiction, rehabilitation, sanity/insanity, mental health, isolation, sorrow, regret, forgiveness, redemption, love, etc.
  • Tracks: 
  1. "From The Inside"
  2. "Wish I Were Born In Beverly Hills"
  3. "The Quiet Room"
  4. "Nurse Rozetta"
  5. "Millie And Billie"
  6. "Serious"
  7. "How Ya Gonna See Me Now"
  8. "For Veronica's Sake"
  9. "Jackknife Johnny"
  10. "Inmates (We're All Crazy)"

Brew Info:
  • Brewery: Mother Earth Brew Company (Vista, California)
  • Website:
  • Brew: Head Case Hazy IPA
  • Style: India Pale Ale (IPA)
  • Serving: 16 ounce can
  • ABV: 7.2%
  • IBUs: 45
  • Ingredients: Citra and Galaxy hops
  • Pour: The Head Case pours a hazy, golden yellow hue with a frothy half-finger, off-white head with great retention and delicate lacing.
  • Nose: The nose is tropical, citrusy, fruity, floral, and malty.  It is chalk full of notes of stone fruit (peach and apricot), light pineapple, mango, orange, ripe berries, grapefruit rind, wildflowers, soft caramel malt, and a hint of booze.
  • Taste: The taste of the Head Case follows the nose with floral hops, citrus, tropical fruit, and sweet malt flavors.  There are big notes of orange juices and zest, tangerine, pineapple, mango, peach, apricot, strawberry, and a little booze with a strong malty backbone.
  • Mouthfeel: Medium to full-bodied with moderate carbonation, the mouthfeel of the Head Case is crisp and juicy, with a soft and smooth finish.

Overall pairing: The Head Case Hazy IPA from the fine folks at Mother Earth is a bold, punchy, and an intensely flavorful, yet very drinkable brew... perfect for the hard-rockin' power and might of the legendary Alice Cooper!  'Nuff said!

Cheers!!  Rock on!!

No comments:

Post a Comment