Sunday, December 23, 2012

December 23rd, 2012 - Dancing Madly Backwards (On A Raging River Of Jubelale Winter Ale)

The Meista here pairing Captain Beyond's self-titled, 1972 album and Deschutes Brewery's Jubelale, A Festive Winter Ale today.  This pairing/posting is dedicated to the memory of Lee Dorman, bass player of Captain Beyond and Iron Butterfly and to the memory of Larry "Rhino" Reinhardt, guitarist of Captain Beyond and Iron Butterfly.  Mr. Dorman passed away two days ago on December 21st, 2012.  Mr. Reinhardt passed away on January 2, 2012.   This one is for you Dorman and Rhino... rest in peace gentlemen!

Captain Beyond was formed in 1971 by Rod Evans (former Deep Purple singer), Bobby Caldwell (former drummer for Johnny Winter and Keith Relf's Armageddon), Larry "Rhino" Reinhardt (former Iron Butterfly guitarist), and of course, Lee Dorman (former bassist of Iron Butterfly).  Deeply rooted in late '60s, blues-based, hard rock and psychedelic jam band philosophy, "Captain Beyond" is a richly textured, heavy as hell, monster of an album!  As in their days with Iron Butterfly, Rhino and Dorman play so well off of each other, combining Allman Brothers inspired heavy blues with "acid rock" speed.  Rod Evans vocals are harmonious, honest, and full of depth.  I'm reminded a bit of Jim Morrison but with the soulfulness of Gregg Allman.  Caldwell's drumming is shear perfection... precise, energetic, and heavy, pulling from his blues work with Johnny Winter and his more "trippy" work with Armageddon.  "Captain Beyond" is a richly complex album with interesting signature and tempo changes and introspective lyrics.  Not necessarily a concept album, tracks 1-3, 6-8, and 9-13 segue together, creating a perfect balance and flow and the sonic illusion that the album is one song with multiple movements:

  1. "Dancing Madly Backwards (On a Sea of Air)"
  2. "Armworth"
  3. "Myopic Void"
  4. "Mesmerization Eclipse"
  5. "Raging River of Fear"
  6. "Thousand Days of Yesterdays (Intro)"
  7. "Frozen Over"
  8. "Thousand Days of Yesterdays (Time Since Come and Gone)"
  9. "I Can't Feel Nothin' (Part 1)"
  10. "As the Moon Speaks (To the Waves of the Sea)"
  11. "Astral Lady"
  12. "As the Moon Speaks (Return)
  13. "I Can't Feel Nothin' (Part 2)"
(As a side note: the original LP cover for the U.S. release included 3-D artwork using a lenticular printing process. The album was also dedicated to the memory of Duane Allman of the Allman Brothers, who had died in a motorcycle accident the previous year.)

I paired the Jubelale with "Captain Beyond" as a celebration of the music and the lives of Rhino and Lee Dorman as well as a celebration of the season.   Deschutes employs the use of Pale, Crystal, Extra Special, Carapils, and Roasted Barley malts along with Nugget, Cascade, Willamette, Styrian, Tettnang, and East Kent Goldings hops for this festive winter ale.  The Jubelale pours a deep garnet and copper in color with a 1-finger, mocha head.  The nose is earthy and malty with notes of dried fruits, malts, and light caramel.  Medium bodied, the flavor is rich and earthy like "Captain Beyond's" tone with notes of chicory, light roasted coffee, fruit ester, and chewy malt.  The generous use of hops gives this ale a refreshing and crisp sharpness with 60 IBUs.  There is a nice balance of bitterness with malt and subtle sweetness.  The Jubelale is a really nice, somewhat untraditional winter ale... perfect for kicking back on a cold winter night with the richness and complexity of Captain Beyond!

Check out the Jubelale at and if you don't own a copy of "Captain Beyond," due yourself a HUGE favor and go buy it... TODAY!!  Happy holidays my friends and cheers!!

No comments:

Post a Comment