Saturday, October 12, 2013

October 12th, 2013 - I Think God's Equation May Equal Chasin' Freshies

Good evening!!  The Meista here with a kick-ass pairing for you... the amazing Norwegian power metal band Pagan's Mind and their 2007 album "God's Equation" along with a Deschutes Chasin' Freshies Fresh Hop IPA!!

Brewed with Pilsner Malt, Flaked Oats, Bravo hops, and a healthy dose of fresh Amarillo hops, the Chasin' Freshies Fresh Hop IPA from Deschutes Brewery out of Bend, OR is a refreshing, crisp, and complex brew... perfect for the intensity of "God's Equation"!  Part of the Bond Street series, this brew is only available from October through to December (so get it quick!)  The Chasin' Freshies pours a hazy straw gold with a bright, white head that displays sustained spider web lacing.  The aroma is bright and bold.  There are big pine notes along with citrus that hit you immediately after popping the top.  A twenty-two ounce hop bomber, I poured this bad boy into my oversized Pilsner glass.  I immediately noted the effervescence, the strong carbonation, along with the piney nose.  The flavor is big grapefruit, orange, tangerine, lemon, and pine resin flavor along with notes of bitter black tea and wild summer grass.  Although the Chasin' Freshies is crisp and refreshing, there is a creaminess to the mouthfeel as well.  The finish is bitter, slightly sticky, and with hoppy oiliness... always a sign of a quality IPA.  Chasin' Freshies is a wonderfully crisp IPA and wonderfully tasty!

Wow, what can I say about "God's Equation" by Pagan's Mind?  This is one of the best purchases I've ever made!!  This is quite possibly the ultimate progressive/power metal sound of this era... seriously!!  Like the Chasin' Freshies IPA, this album is explosive, engaging, and complex!  (And how 'bout that freshy on the album cover?!)  Nils K. Rue's vocals are fantastically powerful, mesmerizing, and just so very brilliant!!  Jørn Viggo Lofstad's guitars are searing, aggressive, monstrous!  Steinar Krokmo's bass along with Stian Kristoffersen's drums are thunderous attack of cannons and laser fire!  And Ronny Tegner keyboards act as the perfect foil for the rest of the band - atmospheric, precise, and beautiful!   Each track is a meticulous, yet emotionally and honestly crafted masterpiece!  I adore each and every track, but a few stand out as favorites for me... "God's Equation," "United Alliance," "Alien Kamikaze," "Painted Skies," "Spirit Starcruiser," "Osiris' Triumphant Return," and the cover of David Bowie's "Hallo Spaceboy" is fucking perfection!!  Here's the full track list:
  1. "The Conception" − 2:03
  2. "God's Equation" − 7:57
  3. "United Alliance" − 5:04
  4. "Atomic Firelight" − 5:19
  5. "Hallo Spaceboy" (David Bowie cover) − 5:30
  6. "Evolution Exceed" − 6:08
  7. "Alien Kamikaze" − 4:37
  8. "Painted Skies" − 6:33
  9. "Spirit Starcruiser" − 6:02
  10. "Farewell" − 2:10
  11. "Osiris' Triumphant Return" − 8:45
Do yourself a HUGE favor and pick up a copy of "God's Equation" from Pagan's Mind and grab a bottle of Chasin' Freshies IPA... I guarantee a rockin' night!!  Learn more about the genius of Pagan's Mind at!  And check out my man Nils singing Iron Maiden's "Run To The Hills" on the Norwegian version of The Voice:

Keep it metal my friends!!  Cheers and hails!!

No comments:

Post a Comment