Saturday, May 24, 2014

May 24th, 2014 - A Vanilla Fudge Oatis Pyschedlic Sundae

Good afternoon rockers and rollers and craft brew lovers!  The Meista here today pairing "Psychedelic Sundae – The Best of Vanilla Fudge" by Vanilla Fudge and a Vanilla Oatis Oatmeal Stout from Ninkasi Brewing Company!  This pairing goes out to my brother-in-law, Nick... cheers buddy!!

Release in 1993 through Rhino Records, "Psychedelic Sundae – The Best of Vanilla Fudge" captures tracks from the original 5 albums (1966-1969) by seminal psychedelic rock band Vanilla Fudge.  The collection covers the band's phenomenally talented original lineup: lead vocalist/organist Mark Stein, bassist/backing vocalist Tim Bogert, guitarist/backing vocalist Vince Martell, and drummer/percussionist/backing vocalist Carmine Appice.  The album opens with the band's most successful hit, a brilliant, slowed-down, hard rocking version cover of  The Supremes' "You Keep Me Hangin' On". (Probably my favorite Vanilla Fudge track and favorite version of this song!)   Every song on this album is pure rock and roll gold!  Here's the full track list:
  1. "You Keep Me Hangin' On" (single version)
  2. "Where Is My Mind" (non-LP single)
  3. "The Look Of Love" (B-side of "Where Is My Mind")
  4. "Ticket To Ride" (previously unissued single mix)
  5. "Come By Day, Come By Night" (non-LP B-side of "You Keep Me Hangin' On")
  6. "Take Me For A Little While" (single remix)
  7. "That's What Makes A Man" (from the album Renaissance)
  8. "Season Of The Witch" (from the album Renaissance)
  9. "Shotgun" (single version)
  10. "Thoughts" (B-side of "Take Me For A Little While")
  11. "Faceless People" (from the album Renaissance)
  12. "Good Good Lovin'" (non-LP B-side of "Shotgun")
  13. "Some Velvet Morning" (from the album Near The Beginning)
  14. "I Can't Make It Alone" (B-side of "Need Love")
  15. "Lord In The Country" (single version)
  16. "Need Love" (from the album Rock & Roll)
  17. "Street Walking Woman" (from the album Rock & Roll)
  18. "All In Your Mind" (previously unreleased)
The Vanilla Oatis Oatmeal Stout from Ninkasi Brewing Company is a creamy smooth and somewhat decadent brew.  I had this gem at the Beer Bar in Salt Lake City, UT one mellow Sunday afternoon a few weeks back.  (Finally got around to getting it paired today!)   Brewed with chocolate malt, oatmeal, and whole vanilla beans, the Vanilla Oatis has the depth of character and complexity that fits perfectly for the richly textured and slower music of Vanilla Fudge!  The brew pours a coffee black chocolate brown with a thin, tan head that leaves billowy lacing throughout.  The nose is characterized by big vanilla and milk chocolate aromas.  There are also more subtle aromas of dark coffee, oatmeal, and roasted malts.  Velvety smooth, the mouthfeel is like biting into a fudge cream popsicle.  Like the nose, the flavor of the Vanilla Oatis is dominated by vanilla and milk chocolate right up front and throughout the finish.  More subtle notes of caramel, rich coffee, oats, marshmallow, and cream fill the mid-range.  It finishes with just a hint of bitter hops, but that vanilla really lingers.  Oh so tasty!!


No comments:

Post a Comment