Sunday, November 27, 2016

November 27th, 2016 - Sea Of Wussies

Good afternoon rock and rollers and hop heads!  Your pal the Meista here pairing "Sea Of Cowards" by the Dead Weather and a Who You Callin' Wussie Pils from Stone Brewing Company!

Album Info:
  • Artist: The Dead Weather
  • Title: "Sea Of Cowards"
  • Recorded: December 2009 at Third Man Studio in Nashville, Tennessee
  • Release date: May 11th, 2010 (second studio album by the Dead Weather)1969-04-16)
  • Record company: Warner Bros. / Third Man
  • Production: Jack White
  • Album cover art: Rob Jones
  • Personnel: Dean Fertita (lead guitar, organ, piano, and synthesizer), Jack Lawrence (bass and drums), Alison Mosshart (lead vocals, maracas, rhythm guitar, and synthesizer), and Jack White (drums, vocals, and guitar)
  • Musical style: Rock, blues rock, garage rock, post punk, metal
  • Sound: Gritty, heavy, unapologetic, and in-your-face, the sound on "Sea Of Cowards" combines garage rock rawness with heavy '70s blues rock as well elements of punk and metal.
    Major themes: The blues, cowardice, integrity, states of sanity, life, and death.  White stated that "the album title refers to the way the internet allows people to spit venom and knock people in a cowardly way using fake names. It seems to me that people aren't teaching this generation anything about responsibility. The internet allows people to make a statement that the whole world can read and listen to-but they're too much of a coward to leave their actual name."
  • Tracks:   
  1. "Blue Blood Blues"
  2. "Hustle And Cuss"
  3. "The Difference Between Us"
  4. "I'm Mad"
  5. "Die By The Drop"
  6. "I Can't Hear You"
  7. "Gasoline"
  8. "No Horse"
  9. "Looking At The Invisible Man"
  10. "Jawbreaker"
  11. "Old Mary"

Brew Info:
  • Brewery: Stone Brewing Company (Escondido, California)
  • Website:
  • Brew: Who You Callin' Wussie Pils
  • Style: Czech Pilsener 
  • Serving: 16 ounce can
  • ABV: 5.8%
  • Pour: The Who You Callin' Wussie pours a slightly hazy straw gold hue with frothy and sudsy 2-finger bright white head with great retention and intricate lacing.
  • Nose: The nose is citrusy, floral, and grassy with hints of light sweet maltiness.  There are aromas of grapefruit rind, lime juice, lemon zest, fresh hop buds, summer grass, lemongrass, saltine crackers, and very slight caramel.
  • Taste: The taste is very grassy, crackery, citrusy, and floral.  There are notes of freshly picked hops, pink grapefruit juice, lemon, crackery biscuit, black pepper, hay.
  • Mouthfeel: Medium-bodied and well-carbonated, the mouthfeel is very crisp, smooth, and refreshing with a clean, slightly bitter finish.

Overall pairing: 
The punchy, raw, and brilliantly crafted heavy bluesy punk rock and roll of the Dead Weather's "Sea Of Cowards" is a great, underrated album... and greater still when being paired with the crisp, refreshing, and fierce flavors of Stone's excellent and aptly titled Who You Callin' Wussie Pils!


No comments:

Post a Comment