Monday, October 23, 2017

October 23rd, 2017 - Menacing Tyrant Kumquats!

Good evening headbangers!  The Meista here tonight pairing Jag Panzer's wonderful first EP "Tyrants" and a Menacing Kumquat, Fresh Harvest Saison from Trinity Brewing Company!  YES!!

Album Info:
  • Artist: Jag Panzer
  • Title: "Tyrants"
  • Recorded: 1981 at Startsong Studios in Colorado Springs, Colorado
  • Release date: Original EP released in 1983; remastered white and red vinyl version released May 28th, 2013
  • Record company: Original EP released by Azra Records; remastered version by High Roller Import
  • Production: Andrew Banks, Mark Briody, and Tom Gregor
  • Album cover art: Keith Austin
  • Personnel: Mark Briody (guitars and keyboards), Harry "The Tyrant" Conklin (lead vocals), Rick Hilyard (drums), and John Tetley (bass)
  • Musical style: Heavy metal, power metal with elements of speed metal and thrash metal
  • Sound: Raw, rebellious, fast-paced, and straight-forward classic metal!  Although very young at the time, the Panzer boys had a very strong sense of who they were and where they were going.  With the obvious influence of the NWOBHM, Jag Panzer was heavier, faster, louder, and more aggressive than the majority of American bands out there at the time!
  • Major themes: Warfare, death, destruction, power, violence, rock and roll, sex, humor, evil, rebellion, etc.
  • Tracks:   
  1. "Battle Zones"
  2. "Death Row"
  3. "Metal Melts The Ice"
  4. "Iron Shadows"
  5. "Tower Of Darkness" (bonus track, previously unreleased)
  6. "The Oracle" (bonus track, previously unreleased)
  7. "Under The Knife" (bonus track, previously unreleased)
  8. "The Crucifix" (bonus track, unreleased demo version)
  9. "Battle Zones" (bonus track, unreleased demo version)
  10. "Rock & Roll Suicide" (bonus track, previously unreleased)
  11. "On The Rocks" (bonus track, previously unreleased)
  12. "Sit On My Face" (bonus track, previously unreleased)

Brew Info:
  • Brewery: Trinity Brewing Company (Colorado Springs, Colorado)
  • Website:
  • Brew: Menacing Kumquat, Fresh Harvest Saison
  • Style: Saison / Farmhouse Ale
  • Serving: 12 ounce bottle
  • ABV: 6.4%
  • IBUs: 45
  • Ingredients: Golden Naked Oats and Pilsen malts, Citra hops, fresh Florida ‘Winter Harvest’ kumquats and Grains of Paradise, and free-rise fermentation with a proprietary yeast blend
  • Pour: The Menacing Kumquat, Fresh Harvest Saison pours a cloudy .
  • Nose: The nose is very fruity, citrusy, floral, earthy, spicy, and malty.  There are aromas of sweet Belgian yeast, kumquat juice and zest, tangerine, orange marmalade, wild flowers, and light spices.
  • Taste: The taste of the Menacing Kumquat, Fresh Harvest Saison is fruity, citrusy, sweet, tart, floral, and funky.  There are notes of kumquat juice, nectarine, passionfruit, guava, lime, crackery biscuit, a hint of earthy barnyard funk, Belgian yeast spiciness, and white pepper. 
  • Mouthfeel: Medium-bodied and well-carbonated, the mouthfeel is very crisp, very refreshing, smooth, and a somewhat tart with a dry finish with lingering sweetness.
Overall pairing: The Menacing Kumquat, Fresh Harvest Saison from Trinity Brewing Company is a fresh, vibrant brew with loads of amazing and complex flavor!  And although "Tyrants" is now 36 years old, it still sounds fresh, vibrant, and full of raw energy... a very fitting album for the citrusy punch of the Menacing Kumquat!

Cheers and hails!!

No comments:

Post a Comment