Friday, January 11, 2019

January 11th, 2019 - They All Can't Be The Bees Knees

Good afternoon and happy Friday!  The Meista here today with the wife rocking out to "They All Can't Be Zingers", a greatest hits compilation by Primus and a Bees Knees Honey Wheat Ale from Roosters Brewing Company (from their brand new canning line)!

Album Info:
  • Artist: Primus
  • Title: "They All Can't Be Zingers"
  • Recorded: 1989 through 2003 at various studios
  • Release date: October 17th, 2006 
  • Record company: Interscope Records
  • Production: Matthew Winegar
  • Album cover art: Reuben Raffael (art direction and design) and  Reuben Rude (illustration) 
  • Personnel: Tim "Herb" Alexander (drums), Les Claypool (bass guitar, banjo, and vocals), and Larry LaLonde (guitars)
  • Additional musicians: Bryan "Brain" Mantia (drums on "Shake Hands With Beef", "Over The Falls", and "Coattails Of A Dead Man"), Martina Topley-Bird (vocals on "Coattails Of A Dead Man"), and Tom Waits (vocals on "Tommy The Cat", vocals and mellotron on "Coattails Of A Dead Man")
  • Musical style: Alternative rock/metal, post punk, funk rock, experimental art rock
  • Sound: As my wife describes it: "good! So good!"  What can you say about Primus that hasn't already been said?  Their music is heavy, funky, and incredibly artistic and unique!  Claypool's insane basslines alone are worth every penny of the price of the album!  No one else sounds like this band!
  • Major themes: Satirical and humorous, but also darkly serious, themes and subjects on the album include fishing, racing brainwashing/influence, drug addiction, lust, murder, deception, nonsense, love, etc.
  • Tracks:   
  1. "To Defy The Laws Of Tradition"
  2. "John The Fisherman"
  3. "Too Many Puppies"
  4. "Jerry Was A Race Car Driver"
  5. "Those Damned Blue-Collar Tweekers"
  6. "Tommy The Cat"
  7. "My Name Is Mud"
  8. "Mr. Krinkle"
  9. "DMV"
  10. "Over The Electric Grapevine"
  11. "Wynona's Big Brown Beaver"
  12. "Southbound Pachyderm"
  13. "Over The Falls"
  14. "Shake Hands With Beef"
  15. "Coattails Of A Dead Man"
  16. "Mary The Ice Cube"

    Brew Info:
  • Brewery: Roosters Brewing Company (Ogden, Utah)
  • Website:
  • Brew: Bees Knees Honey Wheat Ale
  • Style:  American Wheat Ale
  • Serving: 12 ounce can
  • ABV: 4.0% 
  • Ingredients: Malted White Wheat and clover honey
  • Pour: The Bees Knees pours a hazy, golden ochre hue with an  eggshell-white, half-finger, frothy head with good retention and soapy lacing.
  • Nose: The nose is bready, doughy, earthy, and sweet.  There are aromas of clove honey, toasted bread, lemon zest, and light caramel. 
  • Taste: The taste of the Bees Knees is sweet, bready, toasty, and malty.  There are notes of crackery biscuit, freshly baked wheat bread, sweet and earthy honey, hints of lemon, and light caramel.
  • Mouthfeel: Medium-bodied and well carbonated, the mouthfeel is very crisp and sweet with a dry, clean, slightly sweet finish.

Overall pairing: The crushable, very drinkable tastiness of Bees Knees Honey Wheat Ale is perfect for a Friday afternoon of rocking out to the insanely unique and brilliant music of Primus!  'Nuff said!


No comments:

Post a Comment