Saturday, January 8, 2022

January 8th, 2022 - "In [Snowbasin's] Honor


Hello and happy Saturday rockers, rollers, and hopheads!  The Meista here today pairing "In Your Honor", the great double album by the Foo Fighters and a Snowbasin Juicy Pale Ale from the fine folks at Roosters Brewing Company!

Album Info:
  • Artist: Foo Fighters
  • Title: "In Your Honor"
  • Recorded: January through March 2005 at 606 West in Los Angeles, California
  • Release date: June 14th, 2005 (5th studio album by the Foo Fighters)
  • Record company: Roswell Records / RCA
  • Production: Nick Raskulinecz and Foo Fighters
  • Album cover art: Bret Healey (design) and Kevin Reagan (art direction and design) 
  • Personnel: Dave Grohl (lead vocals, backing vocals, rhythm guitar, percussion, and drums on "Cold Day in the Sun"), Taylor Hawkins (drums, percussion, and lead vocals and rhythm guitar on "Cold Day in the Sun"), Nate Mendel (bass), and Chris Shiflett (lead guitar)
  • Additional musicians: Joe Beebe (guitar on "Virginia Moon"), Danny Clinch (harmonica on "Another Round"), Petra Haden (violin on "Miracle"), Josh Homme (rhythm guitar on "Razor"), Rami Jaffee (keyboards on "Still", "What If I Do?", "Another Round", "Over and Out", "On the Mend" and "Cold Day in the Sun"), John Paul Jones (piano on "Miracle" and mandolin on "Another Round"), Norah Jones (vocals and piano on "Virginia Moon"), and Nick Raskulinecz (double bass on "On the Mend" and bass on "Cold Day in the Sun")
  • Sound: Punky, poppy, catchy, and fun as hell, although the subject matter of the songs is sometimes rather dark, the music on disc 1 is upbeat, fast, and wonderful enjoyable!  The sound on disc 2 is more subdued and mellow, but still provides the signature Foo Fighters intensity and honesty.
  • Major themes: Introspection, rebellion, love, loss, fear, friendship, distance, emotional pitfalls and hang-ups, etc.
  • Tracks: 
  1. "In Your Honor"
  2. "No Way Back"
  3. "Best Of You"
  4. "DOA"
  5. "Hell"
  6. "The Last Song"
  7. "Free Me"
  8. "Resolve"
  9. "The Deepest Blues Are Black"
  10. "End Over End"
  11. "Still"
  12. "What If I Do?"
  13. "Miracle"
  14. "Another Round"
  15. "Friend Of A Friend"
  16. "Over And Out"
  17. "On The Mend"
  18. "Virginia Moon"
  19. "Cold Day In The Sun"
  20. "Razor"

Brew Info:
  • Brewery: Roosters Brewing Company (Ogden, Utah)
  • Website:
  • Brew: Snowbasin Juicy Pale Ale
  • Style: American Pale Ale (APA)
  • Serving: 12 ounce can
  • ABV: 5.0% 
  • Pour: The Snowbasin Juicy Pale Ale pours a clear, golden yellow hue with a 1-finger, frothy, bright white head with great retention and lots of sticky, layered lacing.
  • Nose: The nose is citrusy, fruity, floral, herbal, and sweet.  There are aromas of orange, tangerine, light pineapple, lemon zest, grapefruit, summer grass, wildflowers, sweet biscuit, sweet caramel, and a hint of honey.
  • Taste: The taste of the Snowbasin Juicy Pale Ale is characterized by citrusy, fruity, and malty flavors.  There are notes of orange juice and peel, pink grapefruit, tangerine, pineapple, mango, caramel, and a sweet, malty finish.
  • Mouthfeel: Medium-bodied with moderate carbonation, the mouthfeel is very crisp and juicy, yet smooth with a fairly clean and slightly sweet finish. 

Overall pairing: The Snowbasin Juicy Pale Ale is a hop-forward, juicy, punchy, and very tasty brew... perfect for the punky, punchy, intense power of the first disc of Foo Fighters' "In Your Honor"!  The sweeter, maltier flavors go great with the mellower elements of disc 2.


No comments:

Post a Comment