Wednesday, August 21, 2013

August 21st, 2013 - The Way [The Pale] Is

Good afternoon!  In honor of the birth of fantastically wonderful Mr. Glenn Hughes (and mine), I'm pairing his album "The Way It Is" with a crisp and refreshing Poleeko Pale Ale from Anderson Valley Brewing Company out of Boonville, California! 

Released in 1999, "The Way It Is" is the 6th studio album by master songwriter, singer, bassist Glenn Hughes.  Steeped in funk, blues, and soul along with hard rock and metal, this album is incredibly well-balanced, rocking goodness!!  Songs like "You Kill Me," "Neverafter," "Rain On Me," "The Truth Will Set Me Free," "Stoned In The Temple," "Second Son," "Take You Down," and "Don't Look Away" are songs of profound musical prowess and brilliant song writing!  And a great rendition of Jimi Hendrix's "Freedom" is also included.  Musically and lyrically, all of the tracks on "The Way It Is" are delivered with passion, depth, and elegance!  The wonderfully talented lineup on this album includes:
  • Glenn Hughes – Vocals/ Bass
  • Joakim "J.J." Marsh – Guitars on all except tracks 2,8&10
  • Marc Bonilla – Guitars/ Keyboards/ Strings on tracks 1,3,4,5,8,9&12
  • Gary Ferguson – Drums on all except tracks 2&10
  • Stevie Salas – Guitars on tracks 2&10
  • Matt Sorum – Drums on tracks 2&10
  • Hans Zermüehlen – Keyboards on tracks 3,4,5&11
  • Keith Emerson – Organ on tracks 8&12
  • George Nastos – Street Funk Guitar on track 11

  • Poleeko Pale Ale from Anderson Valley Brewing Company is great pale ale!  It pours a brilliant and cloudy golden straw with a bright, white head.  The nose is a combination of pink grapefruit, pine, lemon, and sweet malt.  Bright and citrusy, the flavor follows suit of the aromas.  There are crisp and tart notes of grapefruit, lemon, and orange along with briskly bitter hops that taste like pine and some really nice herbal tea notes.  There is also some nice, bready maltiness giving sweeter and more doughy flavors.  Like "The Way It Is," the Poleeko Pale Ale is well-balanced, tasty, and rockin'! 

    If you don't own any Glenn Hughes albums, go buy some... RIGHT NOW!!


    No comments:

    Post a Comment