Sunday, April 6, 2014

April 6th, 2014 - An Irish Chinatown Stout? Or "Having A Good Time" With Erin!

Afternoon lads and lassies!  The Meista here pairing a delicious Irish stout and an album from my favorite Irish band!  Today I'm sipping an Erin Irish Stout from Roosters Brewing Company and rocking out to "Chinatown" by Thin Lizzy!!  This one goes out to my brother, Dain-o-mite!  Cheers bro!!

I picked up a growler of Erin Irish Stout from Roosters Brewing Company (Ogden, Utah) last night with my brother.  Characterized by a big smoky character like a porter, but with the smooth, chocolately boldness of a stout, Erin Irish Stout is a unique and tasty treat.  It pours a rich and almost ink black with a frothy head.  The nose is earthly and rich.  There are aromas of dark chocolate, bitter coffee, and smoked wood.  Full-bodied, the mouthfeel is creamy, velvety, and very smooth... like Phil Lynott's vocals.  The flavor follows suit with the bouquet.  There are rich and complex notes of peat, dark roasted coffee, liquid smoke, and creamy dark chocolate.  It finishes with a slightly sweet, toffee note that lingers.  Learn more about Roosters Brewing Company and all their great brews at!

Recorded between April and August of 1980 and released on October 10th, 1980, "Chinatown" is the 10th studio album by the great Irish hard rock band Thin Lizzy.  The lineup on "Chinatown" was the late, great Phil Lynott (bass guitar, lead vocals, keyboards), Scott Gorham (guitars, backing vocals), Snowy White (replacing Gary Moore on guitars, backing vocals), and Brian Downey (drums, percussion).  17-year old Darren Wharton provided keyboards and would join the band as full member as well.  Guest musicians included Ultravox frontman Midge Ure (keyboards, vox, organ), Tim Hinkley (electric piano), and Fiachra Trench (string arrangement).   The album opens with the rockin' anthem "We Will Be Strong" and keeps on swinging throughout until the final notes of "Hey You"!  Songs like the ominous "Chinatown", the poppy "Sweetheart", the drinking song "Having A Good Time", and the emotional ballad "Didn't I" make for a great rock and roll Sunday afternoon!  Here's the full track list:
  1. "We Will Be Strong"
  2. "Chinatown"
  3. "Sweetheart"
  4. "Sugar Blues"
  5. "Killer on the Loose"
  6. "Having a Good Time"
  7. "Genocide (The Killing of the Buffalo)"
  8. "Didn't I"
  9. "Hey You"
Sláinte... rock on!! 

No comments:

Post a Comment