Sunday, January 27, 2019

January 27th, 2019 - A Naked Saison In The Buff

Good evening!  Your drinking buddy the Meista here with one more pairing for you tonight: Talking Heads' "Naked" album and a delicious Saison du Buff from Stone Brewing Company in collaboration with Dogfish Head Craft Brewery and Victory Brewing Company!

Album Info:
  • Artist: Talking Heads
  • Title: "Naked"
  • Recorded: 1987 at Studio Davout in Paris, France with additional recording & mixing at
    Sigma Sound Studios in Manhattan, New York
  • Release date: March 15th, 1988 (8th and final studio album by the Talking Heads)
  • Record company: Warner Bros.
  • Production: Steve Lillywhite and Talking Heads
  • Album cover art: David Byrne and Paula Wright
  • Personnel: David Byrne (vocals, guitars, slide guitar, keyboards, and toy piano), Chris Frantz (drums and keyboard percussion), Jerry Harrison (piano, keyboards, guitars, slide guitar, tambourine, and backing vocals), and Tina Weymouth (bass, organ, keyboards, and backing vocals)
  • Additional musicians: Al Acosta (tenor saxophone), Wally Badarou (keyboards), Manolo Badrena (percussion), Phil Bodner (cor anglais), Don Brooks (harmonica), Moussa Cissokao (percussion), Steve Elson (saxophone), Robin Eubanks (trombone), James Fearnley (accordion), Laurie Frink (trumpet), Earl Gardner (trumpet), Nino Gioia (percussion), Steve Gluzband (trumpet), Alex Haas (whistle), Stan Harrison (alto saxophone), Jose Jerez (trumpet), Mory Kant√© (kora) Johnny Marr (guitar), Abdou M'Boup (percussion), Kirsty McColl (backing vocals), Yves N'Djock (guitar), Lenny Pickett (saxophone), Bobby Porcelli (alto saxophone), Arthur Russell (cello), Steven Sachs (baritone saxophone), Charlie Sepulveda (trumpet), Philippe Servain (accordion), Sydney Thiam (percussion), Dale Turk (baritone trombone), Brice Wassy (percussion), Eric Weissberg (pedal guitar, steel guitar, and dobro)
  • Musical style: Pop rock, funk rock, R&B, world music
  • Sound: Funky, upbeat, playful, and loose, but also serious, "Naked" finds the band incorporating African and Latin beats along with funk elements into their wonderfully crafted music.
  • Major themes: The government, plight of the working man, the environment, life, beauty, human nature, identity, love, etc.
  • Tracks:   
  1. "Blind"
  2. "Mr. Jones"
  3. "Totally Nude"
  4. "Ruby Dear"
  5. "(Nothing But) Flowers"
  6. "The Democratic Circus"
  7. "The Facts Of Life"
  8. "Mommy Daddy You And I"
  9. "Big Daddy"
  10. "Bill"
  11. "Cool Water"

Brew Info:
  • Brewery: Stone Brewing Company (Escondido, California) / Dogfish Head Craft Brewery (Milton, Delaware) / Victory Brewing Company (Downington, Pennsylvania)
  • Website:
  • Brew: Saison du Buff
  • Style: Saison / Farmhouse Ale
  • Serving: 25 ounce bottle
  • ABV: 6.8%
  • Ingredients: Stone Farms and locally harvested sage, lemon thyme, rosemary, and parsley and dry-hopped with Citra hops 
  • Pour: The Saison du Buff pours a very hazy, pale golden amber with a frothy 1-finger white head that dissipates quickly and leaves very little lacing.
  • Nose: The nose is fruity, funky, herbal, earthy, citrusy, and spicy.  There are aromas of dried stone fruits (apricots and peaches), grapefruit rind, light pear juice, yogurt, wet leather, sage, thyme, rosemary, soft banana, and a hint of cloves.
  • Taste: The taste of the Saison du Buff is zesty, citrusy, herbal, floral, and funky.  There are notes of apricot fruit leather, Belgian yeast, lime, grapefruit, sage, thyme, rosemary, soft banana, and a hint of cloves..
  • Mouthfeel: Medium-bodied and well-carbonation, the Saison du Buff is very dry, crisp, sharp, slightly tart, and bright, with a dry finish.
Overall pairing: The Saison du Buff from Stone / Dogfish Head / Victory is a very complex, fruity, funky brew... perfect for the musical intricacies and brilliance of Talking Heads' "Naked"!


No comments:

Post a Comment