Saturday, March 30, 2019

March 30th, 2019 - Burn My Eyes With Pale Ale!

Hello and happy Saturday!  With the announcement of Machine Head's "Burn My Eyes" 25th Anniversary Tour with original members, today I'm pairing that album with a UTOG Pale Ale from Utah's newest brewery, UTOG Brewing Company!  Hells yeah!

Album Info:
  • Artist: Machine Head
  • Title: "Burn My Eyes"
  • Recorded: 1994 at Fantasy Studios in Berkeley, California
  • Release date: August 9th, 1994 (1st studio album by Machine Head)
  • Record company: Roadrunner Records
  • Production: Colin Richardson
  • Album cover art: Dave McKean
  • Personnel: Adam Duce (bass), Robb Flynn (rhythm guitar and vocals), Chris Kontos (drums), and Logan Mader (lead guitar)
  • Musical style: Groove metal, thrash metal with hints of death metal
  • Sound: In the tradition of Pantera, Sepultura, and Soulfly, the sound on "Burn My Eyes" combines the aggression and speed of 1980s American thrash metal with deep-rooted grooves.  
  • Major themes: With socio-politically changed songs about the religion, race, the 1992 Los Angeles riots, and the siege at Waco, themes on the album include urban decay, rebellion, social unrest, racial strife, substance abuse, violence, suffering, the dangers of religious control, etc.
  • Notes: From Kerrang: "To celebrate the 25th anniversary of their debut album Burn My Eyes, original members Logan Mader and Chris Kontos are temporarily rejoining Machine Head to perform the record live.  The band will be touring the UK and Europe throughout October and November, continuing the style of their Evening With… style shows with a three-hour special every night. During the first portion of the set, frontman/guitarist Robb Flynn and bassist Jared MacEachearn will be joined by two as-yet-unannounced musicians to perform a set of hits, while original drummer Chris Kontos and original guitarist Logan Mader will then be playing Burn My Eyes in full during the set’s second segment."
  • Tracks:   
  1. "Davidian"
  2. "Old"
  3. "A Thousand Lies"
  4. "None But My Own"
  5. "The Rage To Overcome"
  6. "Death Church"
  7. "A Nation On Fire"
  8. "Blood For Blood"
  9. "I'm Your God Now"
  10. "Real Eyes, Realize, Real Lies"
  11. "Block"

Brew Info:
  • Brewery: UTOG Brewing Company (Ogden, Utah)
  • Website:
  • Brew: UTOG Pale Ale
  • Style: American Pale Ale (APA)
  • Serving: 12 ounce can
  • ABV: 4.0%
  • Pour: The UTOG Pale Ale pours a hazy caramel-gold amber with an off-white, 1+ finger, frothy head with good retention and lacing.
  • Nose: The nose is citrusy, earthy, floral, dank, and slightly malty.  There are aromas of orange zest, grapefruit rind, wild flowers, wet pine needles, soft caramel, and bready malts.
  • Taste: The taste of the UTOG Pale Ale follows the nose with flavors of earthy pine, orange zest, pink grapefruit juice, tangerine, and soft caramel.
  • Mouthfeel: Medium-bodied with moderate carbonation, the UTOG Pale Ale is crisp, refreshing, and smooth with a dry, slightly sweet finish.
Overall pairing: The UTOG Pale Ale is a very hop-forward, crushable, flavorful brew... pefect for aggressive grooves of Machine Head's amazing debut album "Burn My Eyes"!  Those punchy citrus flavors go great with Flynn's aggressive vocal attack and Mader's amazing guitar riffs while the malty backbone is perfect for the thunderous rhthmic grooves of Duce and Kontos!

Cheers and hails!!

No comments:

Post a Comment