Wednesday, April 3, 2019

April 3rd, 2019 - On Wednesdays We [Drink] Pink Boots And Listen To Jazz

Good evening and happy Wednesday rockers and craft brew drinkers!  The Meista here pairing Queen's amazing album "Jazz" and a very crushable and newly released On Wednesdays We Wear Pink Boots Cold Session IPA from Roosters Brewing Company!  Hell yeah!  This pairing is dedicated to all the amazing ladies that are part of the Pink Boots Society!!

Album Info:
  • Artist: Queen
  • Title: "Jazz"
  • Recorded: July through October 1978 at Mountain Studios in Montreux and Super Bear Studios in Berre-les-Alpes, France
  • Release date: November 10th, 1978 (7th studio album by Queen)
  • Record company: EMI / Elektra
  • Production: Queen and Roy Thomas Baker
  • Album cover art: Roger Taylor (design)
  • Personnel: John Deacon (bass, electric guitar, and acoustic guitar), Brian May (electric guitar, acoustic guitar, lead vocals on "Leaving Home Ain't Easy", and backing vocals), Freddie Mercury (lead vocals, backing vocals, and piano), and Roger Taylor (drums, percussion, electric guitar, bass guitar, backing vocals, and lead vocals on "Fun It" and "More Of That Jazz")
  • Musical style: Hard rock, heavy metal, rock and roll with elements of power pop, glam rock, disco, and even a little vaudeville 
  • Sound: Complex, sleek, over the top, and multifaceted, "Jazz" is one of those albums that grabs you from the opening notes and won't let go!  It is powerful, rocking, somewhat silly, and pure electricity from the opening track to the end!  May's layered guitar tone and finger work is awe-inspiring!  Mercury's vocals brilliantly combine emotional honesty and hard rock sensibility!  And Deacon and Taylor are a rhythmic force to be reckoned with!  
  • Major themes: Sex, lust, rock and roll, bicycles, jealousy, relationships, life, love, etc. 
  • Tracks:   
  1. "Mustapha"
  2. "Fat Bottomed Girls"
  3. "Jealousy"
  4. "Bicycle Race"
  5. "If You Can't Beat Them"
  6. "Let Me Entertain You"
  7. "Dead On Time"
  8. "In Only Seven Days"
  9. "Dreamer's Ball"
  10. "Fun It"
  11. "Leaving Home Ain't Easy"
  12. "Don't Stop Me Now"
  13. "More Of That Jazz"

    Brew Info:
  • Brewery: Roosters Brewing Company (Ogden, Utah)
  • Website:
  • Brew: On Wednesdays We Wear Pink Boots Cold Session IPA
  • Style: American India Pale Ale (IPA)
  • Serving: 12 ounce can
  • ABV: 4.0% 
  • Ingredients: Yakima Chief Pink Boots blend hops and hibiscus
  • Pour: The Pink Boots IPA pours a hazy with a light pink, 1-finger frothy head with good retention and sticky, layered lacing.
  • Nose: The nose is citrusy, fruity, floral, herbal, and sweet.  There are aromas of grapefruit rind, orange, lemon zest, hibiscus, summer grass, wildflowers, and soft caramel.
  • Taste: The taste of the Pink Boots IPA is characterized by fruity, citrusy, slighty tart, and malt flavors.  There are notes of juicy pink grapefruit, orange, hibiscus, light lemon juice, and a hint of toffee.
  • Mouthfeel: Medium-bodied with moderate carbonation, the mouthfeel is very crisp and somewhat tart, yet creamy and smooth with a very dry, slightly bitter finish. 
  • Notes: Learn more about the Pink Boots Society at

Overall pairing:  The Roosters Pink Boots IPA is a very crushable, crisp, and refreshing brew... great for the hard rockin' that is Queen's "Jazz"!  Those crisp, fruity, complex, hoppy notes pair so very well with the hard hitting punch of the truly brilliant "Jazz"!


No comments:

Post a Comment