Tuesday, May 25, 2021

May 25th, 2021 - Screaming For Hellion!


Evenin' metal heads and hop heads!  Your pal the Meista here with another kick-ass metal and artisan brew pairing for ya.  Tonight I'm spinning the legendary "Screaming For Vengeance" by the metal gods themselves, Judas Priest, one of my favorite all-time Priest albums... and all-time metal albums for that matter!  And I'm throwing back a tasty Hellion Pale Ale from TRVE Brewing Company to go with it!  Hell yeah!!  This pairing goes out to my good friends Mary and Yosha!  Thanks very much for the tasty beers my lovelies!!  

Album Info:
  • Artist: Judas Priest"
  • Title: "Screaming For Vengeance" and "Screaming For Vengeance: Special 30th Anniversary Edition"
  • Recorded: 1982 at Ibiza Sound Studios in Ibiza, Spain
  • Release date: July 17th, 1982 (8th full-length studio album by Judas Priest)
  • Record company: CBS Records 
  • Production: Tom Allom
  • Album cover art: Doug Johnson
  • Personnel: K.K. Downing (guitars), Rob Halford (vocals), Ian Hill (bass), Dave Holland (drums), and Glenn Tipton (guitars)
  • Musical style: Heavy metal
  • Sound: Musically speaking, "Screaming For Vengeance" found the band going in a faster and heavier direction than the previous album.  From the opening notes of "The Hellion/Electric Eye" to the final notes of "Devil's Child", Priest lays it the hell down!!  Every song is a metal masterpiece, a microcosm of intensity, and a defining force in my life! 
  • Major themes: With songs steeped in science fiction, lust, and dark fantasy, themes on the album include surveillance, flight, darkness, rebellion, freedom, revenge, pain, sex, sorrow, etc. 
  • Note: Interestingly enough, the album's biggest hit ("You've Got Another Thing Comin'") was a last minute addition to the album.
  • Tracks:  
  1. "The Hellion"
  2. "Electric Eye"
  3. "Riding On The Wind"
  4. "Bloodstone"
  5. "(Take These) Chains"
  6. "Pain And Pleasure"
  7. "Screaming For Vengeance"
  8. "You've Got Another Thing Comin'"
  9. "Fever"
  10. "Devil's Child"
  11. "Electric Eye" (live at San Antonio Civic Center, San Antonio, September 10th, 1982)
  12. "Riding on the Wind" (live at San Antonio Civic Center, San Antonio, September 10th, 1982)
  13. "You've Got Another Thing Comin'"  (live at San Antonio Civic Center, San Antonio, September 10th, 1982)
  14. "Screaming For Vengeance"  (live at San Antonio Civic Center, San Antonio, September 10th, 1982)
  15. "Devil's Child" (live at Mid-South Coliseum, Memphis, Tennessee, December 12th, 1982)
  16. "Prisoner Of Your Eyes" (recorded during the 1985 "Turbo" sessions) 

Brew Info:
  • Brewery: TRVE Brewing Company (Denver, Colorado)
  • Website: https://www.trvebrewing.com/
  • Brew: Hellion Pale Ale with Oats
  • Style: American Pale Ale (APA)
  • Serving: 12 ounce can
  • ABV: 4.5%
  • Pour: The Hellion pours a hazy, bronze-amber hue with a frothy and firm, bright white, 2+ finger head with great retention and lots of sticky, sudsy lacing.
  • Nose: The nose is characterized by floral, earthy, and malty aromas.  There are notes of barley, crackery biscuit, wild flowers, light caramel, and a hint of lemongrass. 
  • Taste: The taste follows the nose with floral, herbal, malty, floral, slightly sweet flavors.  There are notes of creamy oats, barley, a touch of honey, and a hint of caramel. 
  • Mouthfeel: Light to medium-bodied and moderately carbonated, the mouthfeel is crisp, yet very smooth and somewhat creamy with a dry, clean finish.

Overall pairing: The very easy-drinkin', crushable flavors of TRVE's Hellion make it a great pairing to the fast, aggressive, yet melodic approach the Metal Gods take to classic heavy metal!  A great beer to slam whilst pumping your fist to this classic masterpiece!  'Nuff said! 

Cheers!!  And hails!! 

No comments:

Post a Comment